I think i know why razrs ics update kills battery

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Bilgediver, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. Bilgediver
    Offline

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    The kernel keeps the processor stuck at max, 1.2 ghz. The 215 leak probably fixes this. I've noticed heavy battery drain even when screen was dim. I've put a widgets indicator for processor speed never changes, stays stuck at 1.2 ghz.

    Anyone with the 215 leak notice different speeds?


    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
     
  2. Bilgediver
    Offline

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    To keep the battery going strong, i set data to turn off when screen is off.

    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
     
  3. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,035
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,646
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Hmmm.

    I didn't explore the .211 OTA, I simply held out till .215 dropped BEFORE I upgraded, so I didn't have all those issues. Still, aren't there people on .211 that don't have this battery draining problem?
     
  4. Bilgediver
    Offline

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does your processor drop down from max as needed?

    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
     
  5. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,035
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,646
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Yep.

    Here's a screen capture.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Mine looked a lot like that on .211. Plenty of deep sleep when idle. My battery seems slightly better on .215 I know i wasn't stuck at any speed.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. Bilgediver
    Offline

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hm, i guess i was wrong, its just weird that the widgetsoid indicator would be stuck on 1.2 then.

    Sent from My Droid RAZR MAXX with Tapatalk.
     
  8. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    I'm not saying yours didn't, just that it wasn't a universal problem with the .211 update. Are you on .215 now and is your battery life improved?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,017
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +200
    I myself only have 2% at 1200, 98% at 300. Plenty of sleep.
     
  10. Bilgediver
    Offline

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Nah, still on 211, but i put that app on mine and ive seen minimum, too. Maybe its s radio thing, then, because when i turn my screen off i have data turn off, and it makes me last forever

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. DetCochran
    Offline

    DetCochran New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont know how to get the screen that is posted above, and I think I dont know about the different versions... since the last update my phone has 1/2 the battery life it did before. My husband has the same problem and just found out a co-worker is also having battery problems since the update.
    My system version is: 6.16.211ST912
    Andriod verson 4.0.4
     
  12. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    That screen shot is from an app in play store called CPU Spy. It shows if your CPU is going into deep sleep when the screen is of and the phones is in standby mode.
    Many people have seen problems with the phone not sleeping when it should. One solution is to wake before you unplug from the charger. There seems to be a bug that will sometimes not allow deep sleep if you don't wake before unplugging.
    Also wiping system cache in recovery should help. As a last resort a FDR will delete all your apps but not your pics or music etc.
    Go to settings, battery and tap the graph at the top. Look at the blue lines below screen on and awake. As a rule they'll match pretty closely. If awake is on whee when the screen is off that might be your problem. Some app is keeping it awake.
    Wiping cache might fix it.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  13. DetCochran
    Offline

    DetCochran New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did not knwo we could do screen shots on the razr... but i installed cpu spy

    1200MHz 49 min 5%
    1000MHZ 16 min 1%
    300 MHz 13hours 15 min 85%
    Deep Sleep 41min 4%

    total state time 15:19:14
     
  14. cleave
    Offline

    cleave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N. California
    Ratings:
    +3
    Screen shot = power button and volume down together for about 2 seconds. Also, if you haven't already, make sure you install .215 update.
     
  15. DetCochran
    Offline

    DetCochran New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, I did not know it did scren shots. I dont know how I can tell if I have .215....
    My system version is: 6.16.211ST912
    Andriod verson 4.0.4

    The CPU spy has changed, it now show:
    View attachment 55665
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr ics update
,

razr maxx 300mhz screen off

,
razr maxx cpu bug