How To: Root your Motorola DROID Bionic

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by wicked, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. mr_bungle

    mr_bungle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    new york
    Ratings:
    +0
    so just a quick question "thread hijacked sorry if in the wrong place " i need to know before i buy another bionic . does rooting solve the 3g 4g connection issues ?
     
  2. BIrONIC

    BIrONIC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    No. Rooting only refers to the process of gaining a certain level of access to a *nix OS.
    It basically gives you the ability to act as the master-administrator (a user account named 'root') for the entire, underlying Android operating system.

    It's kind of like, if you have some kind of mechanical problem on your fishing boat, and you go to a hardware store to try ti find a fix.....rooting your phone is simply like someone unlocking the door for you to enter the hardware store. Whether or not you find what you need (or whether or not it even exists) is up to you and/or anyone else in the store (or here on the forum) that's willing to help in your troubleshooting process.

    As for the data drops issues in particular, I can say that, once I got updated to 5.9.901, they have pretty much disappeared (YMMV).
     
  3. oldguy

    oldguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a similar experience. I was rooted on 886 then took the OTA to 893 and lost root. The forever root method did not work on the 893 OTA. So, I had to use one of the options in the script to flash back to 886 and get forever root. Then I took the 893 OTA again and kept root. Since then, I have taken the OTA for 902 (with fingers crossed) and also kept root. So now I am on 5.9.902 with root.
     
    #243 oldguy, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  4. cokey

    cokey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    finally rooted.. thank you kind sir..
     
  5. brusslesprouts

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NOR*CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i got my droid bionic today and tryed this method but has yet to work it says congrats your droid is rooted but yet i see no user permissions nor can i run any root programs wtf?
     
  6. brusslesprouts

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NOR*CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    never mind! got it working
     
  7. JustineSophia

    JustineSophia New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I tried to root my Bionic, but I'm not sure if it's successfully rooted. The Superuser app appeared on my app list. But when I tried to install the Bionic Bootstrap, it won't install. Should I try to root my phone again?
     
  8. NorthGuard

    NorthGuard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download Root Checker Basic (free app in the play store). It will tell you if you have root access or not.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  9. JustineSophia

    JustineSophia New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for responding.

    I downloaded it, and it said my phone is rooted. What do you think might be the reason why I can't install the Bootstrapper? I mean when I open it and tap "Install" nothing happens.
     
  10. NorthGuard

    NorthGuard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really sure. Did you download it from the market? If so, did you make sure you got the correct one, bionic bootstrap?

    Edit: For the record, I prefer safestrap :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
    #250 NorthGuard, Mar 31, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2012
  11. JustineSophia

    JustineSophia New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not get it from the market. I followed instructions from a website and downloaded it, and then copied it to my phone. Is that the reason it won't install?
     
  12. NorthGuard

    NorthGuard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I doubt it, that is how I got safestrap. Have you tried safestrap? There is a pretty useful guide on how to use it.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-bionic-hacks/202176-detailed-safestrap-instructions.html

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic root

,
how to root a motorola droid bionic
,

how to root droid bionic

,
how to root motorola bionic
,
how to root motorola droid bionic
,
how to root your droid bionic
,
motorola bionic root
,
motorola droid bionic root
,
root motorola droid bionic
,
rooting droid bionic