Droid 3 SIM unlock discussion

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by leobg, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. PuneE

    PuneE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ..and it will work for all GSM carriers (or even CDMA) carriers in the USA? or none of the major 4, but will work w Srvcs like Boost/Virgin/Metro etc. Or if u can give an example of who we can use it with?

    Sorry, I kno very little abt this, Ive always just been w Major Carriers using theeir specfic phones on their networks.
     
  2. christr

    christr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The GSM radio is firmware locked to NOT work at all in the USA. When you get the SIM unlock code from Verizon (or anyone) it will allow you to put a non-Verizon SIM in and utilize the GSM radio outside of the USA. That's it unfortunately. Unlike some of their other global phones (like the TouchPro 2) you cannot use this phone in the US on GSM.

    . Also, this unlock is only for the GSM part, not CDMA.
     
  3. ThaBaX

    ThaBaX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    droid 3 in germany

    hey i am thinking abt getting a droid 3 for using it constantly in germany. can you pls tell me your experience with it using it in germany. does everything work regarding 3g edge gprs texts calls etc.

    thanks for the information;)

    best regards

    ThaBaX
     
  4. ThaBaX

    ThaBaX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey i am thinking abt getting a droid 3 for using it constantly in germany. can you pls tell me your experience with it using it in germany. does everything work regarding 3g edge gprs texts calls etc.

    thanks for the information;)

    best regards

    ThaBaX
     
  5. rweb

    rweb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm using the phone for more than 2 weeks now and can really confirm there are no issues at all with GSM/UMTS. It's definitely not suffering the weaknesses D2G had.
    BTW, WLAN is running much more stable as well, at least for me.
    I absolutely recommend the phone for use in Europe.

    My only complaint so far is that it's not yet rooted. ;-)
     
  6. strike001x

    strike001x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    droid 3 prepaid verizon sim

    Hello I am a verizon member for 5years now. I currently purchased a droid 3 plus an extra one with the buy one get one free offer from verizon. have a family share plan with 4 lines on it. At moment im only using 1 of the droid 3s I purchased. My wife was not interested in the phone so I have an extra droid 3. I am thinking of using the phone for one of my sons but want it to be a prepaid instead because it is a smart phone. Is there any way I can purchase a prepaid plan with verizon, will I still need call verizon to unlock the sim and do I need a new sim or I can I use the one that came with the phone to set up a new number and use this droid as a prepaid phone. Thank you I hope this information can help solve my problem to use the droid 3 as a pay as u go prepaid phone.
     
  7. silver6054

    silver6054 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You plan to use this in the US, right? If so, nothing to do with the SIM (you can't use GSM in the US anyway), so you will need to ask Verizon if you can transfer this to a prepaid "plan"
     
  8. strike001x

    strike001x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok yeah i do plan only use it in US. So i just need call verizon i guess. My concern was if i bought a prepaid sim and put it in the phone and then having it not work. Sry about all the confusion.
     
  9. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Droid 3 will refuse to accept any SIM card while in US (radio is configured to disallow connections to other US operators but Verizon). If you plan to use it in the States, your only choice is Verizon. You could eventually activate it on a monthly prepaid plan that will cost you like $75 a month to have unlimited data and 450 anytime min and other goodies. I don't think you can activate on any other (cheaper) plan..

    on a second thought, you can "flash" it to other COMA operator in the States. So Verizon isn't your only choice. But when it comes to SIM cards, it won't work with any operator is US who uses SIM cards.

    Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
     
    #81 leobg, Sep 7, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
  10. strike001x

    strike001x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah that's wat I was hoping to do either the monthly prepaid plan or the daily access paln. Either way I was hoping get a plan with data plan optional like a pay per usage for data. What do you mean by flash? do u mean unlock the sim by calling verizon so I can use another prepaid sim on my droid? Cause either way as long as I can get the phone to work for just call and txt im fine disabling data on the phone via settings and just use my data plan via wifi
     
  11. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Others call the procedure of reprogramming the CDMA radio "flashing" (like "I flashed my phone to Cricket"). Since CDMA system does not use SIM cards (subscriber identification modules), programming is kept in special area of the radio which can be configured with subscriber's details so radio works with certain CDMA network. By default the phone comes "flashed" to Verizon of course. Reconfiguring the CDMA radio is by no means simple procedure and requires specific tools and knowledge how to use them. I know other CDMA phones which are very similar to D3 (like D2global) can be re-configured in such matter. Now, when armed with the right 'keywords', you should really look around (search) how to do it or find someone who can help.
     
  12. strike001x

    strike001x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just wanted say thanks for the help I figured out what i needed today. I asked at a verizon store and they said they could activate the driod 3 I have on a monthly prepaid plan. I would just have to have the mandatory $30 for unlimited txting and $45 for monthly access of 450mins other than that txting is my choice if i want unlimited for $20 or a lesser plan for texts. for now ive been using the textfree app on andriod market and since ill have 3g and data on the phone ill have to settle for 2numbers one for txting on TEXTFREE and the other for my calls with the verizon number. thanks again for all the help.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 sim unlock

,
droid 3 unlock code
,
droid 3 unlock code generator
,

how to unlock droid 3

,
how to unlock droid 3 global
,
how to unlock droid 3 sim
,
unlock code for motorola droid 3
,
unlock sim droid 3
,
unlock verizon droid 3
,
verizon droid 3 sim unlock