cyanogenmod 6 RC1 and wireless tether

Discussion in 'Koush' started by betoranaldi, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. betoranaldi
    Offline

    betoranaldi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm new to rooting and was able to root my 2.1 moto droid and using ROM Manager was able to install cyanogenmod 6 RC1.

    I did this to get froyo and wireless tether.

    After installation I saw that the integrated wireless tether isn't supported so I downloaded the Android WiFi Tether (2.0.5 pre2) I got it running, I can connect to the hotspot but my computer has a self assigned IP address and can't connect to the internet.

    Does anyone have any experiance with this? Can someone help me getting this going?

    Thanks,
    B
  2. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to see nobody has answered you on this. I'm trying to get Barnacle WiFi tether to work right now. Did you find any answers?
  3. betoranaldi
    Offline

    betoranaldi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still cannot get it to work.
  4. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wireless Tether from the market is working great! Good enough to make ditching my cable internet company a realistic option.
  5. betoranaldi
    Offline

    betoranaldi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    your running CM6 final? I have not been able to get wireless tether to work.
  6. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. Are you running CyanogenMod 6.0.0 as well? I don't know if making sure to wipe data and cache would solve your problem. Wiping data and cache before flashing a ROM.
  7. betoranaldi
    Offline

    betoranaldi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup, I wiped and cleared cache, no dice. The computer says it connects to the device but has a self assigned ip address. I have a friend who has the same problem.
  8. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you running stock kernel or a custom one? I don't remember if I tried with the stock kernel. P3Droid Low Voltage 125-1000MHz works great for me.
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    The latest version of the app is well above pre2, so make sure you're running the latest version.

    Your computer has a self-assigned IP address... Are you trying to connect the computer to the phone to get online or vice versa?
  10. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. djembeman
    Offline

    djembeman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Barnacle & Wifi Tether Not Running? - CyanogenMod Forum

    The above is how someone solved their problem from Cyanogen Forums. I initially had the problem of Easy Tether Interfering with my other wired tether app, but it seems it was getting in this persons way with Wireless Tether. Sounds like you just need to make sure its not intalled on your PC.
Search tags for this page
can you tether a phone running cyanogenmod
,
cyanigen mod 6 with wifi hotspot
,

cyanogenmod 6 wifi tether

,
cyanogenmod 6 wireless tether
,
droid4 tethering