cant remove apps

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by RnD_Solo, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying to go to /system/app to remove the geniewidget (which is this aggravating ass news widget that keeps making my phone try to connect)

    but when i go there, i type

    cd system/app
    rm GenieWidget.apk

    and i get back

    rm failed for GenieWidget.apk read only file system


    OH WTF.....so adb wouldnt do it, but titanium backup did it with no problem!!! how is that possible? i couldnt delete it from the terminal on the phone or adb

    all my files in that folder are like that!! (all the apps) what gives? am i doing something wrong
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    type in adb shell then su
     
  3. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...whew..i really just scare myself. if you select usb transfer mode, leave it pluged in and reboot the phone, it stops at the boot loader. unplug it and it boots like normal. lol.
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    because you werent using the right adb commands. TIbackup can do this because it already has access
     
  5. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    i gave it SU access in both the terminal on the phone and the ADB shell...it wont do it ??????
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
  7. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL...omg..i think i jacked something.

    now i get

    system/bin/rm: not found

    and yes i followed that guide the other day, and now its not working
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    well i dont use adb that much i have titanium and root explorer to do those things.
     
  9. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    understood...i think something on my phone has locked me out..i dont understand why though. im gonna shut down titanium on the phone and try it

    nope..that didnt work
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  10. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    something is up with my bootup to...if i have the usb cable pluged in, it goes to the bootloader screen...i dont have a cameral to take a screen shot, but it says

    bootloader 29.01
    ok to progam
    usb connected..



    and something else, but i 4got
     
  11. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    youre just confusing me now. what are you trying to do? and why are you in the bootloader?
     
  12. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im not going there on purpose!! lol it went there when i rebooted the phone! i dont know why.

    if i unplug the cable, it boots like normal!!! i dont know WHAT is going on..

    i guess right now i have the option of going back to stock or going to 2.2....any suggestions? lol i need to start over anyways.
     
  13. RnD_Solo

    RnD_Solo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    and CRAP...what about all my paid apps!!!!!!
     
  14. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    fresh install.. link one option one to install RSD and then read this for the Droid X
    Droid X

    and paid apps are tied to your gmail account.. just sign in with it and theyll be there
     
  15. mwm523

    mwm523 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about them? If you bought them in the market, the market will remember that you bought them and allow you to download them again. If you bought them outside the market then you should have emails with unlock codes or whatever.
     
Search tags for this page

cant delete app on droid phone

,

cant delete read only genie widget

,

lockedapps