Battery Life with ICS: Tips?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by mikekhelxD, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. mikekhelxD
    Offline

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    As many of us know with the ICS OTA, our batt life has been really rubbish. Ever since the update, I pretty much had to charge my phone 2-3 times a day running with either 3/4G, brightness and animations on lowest/off, no widgets for any social media apps. My usage personally is not that much either. Few forum apps opening every now and then. Yet, my batt is still really bad. I'm probably averaging 7-8 1/2 hours with little use. I still yet to try going wifi when at home, but how about when i'm outside for more than 8 hours? Do I just carry my phone with full charge and when I check it it is already dead? Well, that actually happened to me last night. Went to a party with full charge, stayed for more than 7 hours, I can't even remember that I checked my phone more than 5 times. I just checked the time and made no phone calls or txting. Surprise surprise, it's dead. I was so pissed since I just hitched a ride with a friend and we were on a pretty bad place here in LA.

    So, I beg of you all. Any tips would be nice.

    So far, i've tried running with just 3G or 4G multiple times with completely drained and full charge. Every setting are set to the lowest settings. Already did factory reset. Every app is killed immediately after opening it. Help?
  2. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    root, install busybox off the market, install safestrap, flash eclipse 1.2.3b enjoy! had it run with light use for 4 days with smartactions... use the 1320 oc ulv patch i put on there it sips power from the cpu
  3. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Wipe the cache partition in stock recovery.
    Look at the built in battery monitor, go to the graph, there are blue lines at the bottom. Awake should be showing only when screen is on unless you're streaming music or downloading a big file or something.
    FDR might help too. Many of these problems are the same ones that RAZR has/had. You might find other answers in those threads.
    I think both phones are very close to the same. The version numbers for the OS are so close.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  4. zertsman
    Offline

    zertsman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed switchit, but there are many free apps that let you kill the 4g radio. You also have to do it every time you turn the phone on.

    No root required... not self explanitory, but very easy. Anyone can do it. Choose the option ending in (par).

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  5. mikekhelxD
    Offline

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What does cache partition really do? Is that like doing factory reset? I have done factory reset after I updated to ICS. I really don't want to do another one since it took me about2-3 hours to setup everything again after the reset. As for the awake/screen on, they're pretty much identical. FDR? What is that?
  6. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    just do what i said look at proof forget what moset said
    Screenshot_2012-08-10-22-59-16.png
    again:
    root,
    install busybox off the market,
    install safestrap,
    flash eclipse 1.2.3b
    install 1320 oc ulv
    enjoy! had it run with light use for 4 days with smartactions... use the 1320 oc ulv patch i put on there it sips power from the cpu



    bty FDR= Franklin Delano Roosevelt
  7. mikekhelxD
    Offline

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Were you running wifi most of the time? I kinda need a solution for something outside of wifi usage. I'll be gone from home 7-8 hours without wifi so yeah. I'm exploring the idea of finally rooting my phone, but I still have reservations. However, if I get a decent 12+ hours on 3G/4G without having to connect to wifi, then I will definitely root.
  8. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    believe me dude i know what im doing... i spend hours doin this.... you dont know what your missing... undervolted the cpu to 850 from like 1100... believe me my **** will give you a hard on... i got to drain my batt charge it and run 4g at 100 to show you what you want to see... that will take awhile for me cuz it runs so well lol....
  9. Usuallyfaded
    Offline

    Usuallyfaded New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Fishbear does know what he is talking about. It does sip power.

    DROID 4 currently running eclipse.
  10. mikekhelxD
    Offline

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Don't get me wrong, i'm not challenging your credibility at all. I'd just like to know if it will help me tremendously with 3g/4g running without connecting to wifi. From your photo, it seemed like you were running with wifi most of the time, and I just don't have that luxury when i'm outside more than 1/3 of the day.
  11. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    i know that ill post you a screenshot in like 4 days from now to prove it to you... you just cant take my word and someone elses in the meantime can you? i got like 26 likes so far so i mite not be out to get you.... weirdo
    1 person likes this.
  12. mikekhelxD
    Offline

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I can take your word for it, I don't have problems with that. I'm not trying to fetch proof from you at all. I just would like to know if it will help me a bunch with 3/4g running compared to wifi. See my previous post. Not at all from all of my post ever I said that I don't believe you.
  13. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Cache is temporary storage, totally different from an FDR.
    There is also app cache but I'm taking about system cache. You will lose nothing when you wipe it, at least not that you can tell.
    This requires no root or otherwise modification to your phone. I'm not sure how to get to stock recovery on the 4 but moto has instructions on their forum.


    As for rooting and ulv kernels, how can you mod the kernel with a locked boot loader? That time on battery looks awesome but it seems to show very little screen on time. ICS kinda sips battery anyway while idle.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  14. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    it for me to know and you to drool about hahaha... this was without the lo volt mod as well... got to run that for a while to get a nice screenshot.... just wrote the script today:p plus micron wrote speedscript which manages memoey and more, a low volt 1425oc script, and got new goveners like hotplug x... it would prob work with your razr as well
  15. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    If you do decide to root and mod go for it. I played all those games on my OG Droid and had a blast doing it. Also on Bionic, but i discovered i could get about all the functions i wanted stock. And I'm not sure if i got much increase in performance, but it sure was fun.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  16. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    quadrent scores stock 2800 mine with ulv and speedscript 3280 -3400 and it uses less power oh and flash works if you select desktop agent in icsbrowser+ which comes preloaded
  17. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    [Q] stock recovery for droid 4? - xda-developers
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1547119


    Here's a link to get to recovery. Same as RAZR.
    To wipe cache once you're at that option you use Vol + - to scroll then power button to select. On the first screen vol - scrolls and Vol + selects. There is an option to FDR in there to so be careful.
    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  18. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    whatever lol cant say that i didnt try to help ya
    if you change your mind do this
  19. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    I'm not disputing, just more than most people want or have the skills to do, I do know the joys of living on the edge.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  20. mikekhelxD
    Offline

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I appreciate your input. I'm still intrigue with the info you suggested. I have not rooted nor I know anything from rooting a phone so I still have a lot of reading to do. I will definitely have the things you said in my mind when I decided to root.
Search tags for this page
android ics battery saver graph
,
battery save rooted ics
,
droid 4 battery life eclipse
,

droid 4 battery life tips

,
how to save android battery ics
,
ics bad battery life
,

ics battery life

,
ics battery life tips
,
ics battery saving tip
,

ics battery saving tips

,
ics battery usage
,
is there a way to see battery use on ics