App that roots/OCs/multi-touches and tethers for $5

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by deputc26, Feb 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Sholes team just came out with it so if you are afraid of rooting and OCing this will do it all for you fr $5 it also will automatically update you to each new release that this team builds so, like fine wine, it gets better with age.

    Search "sholesmod updater" in the market.
  2. Briankbl
    Offline

    Briankbl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Awesome! Good lookin' out!
  3. fredm74
    Offline

    fredm74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I understanding this correctly, they root the Droid for a $5 fee?

    -Fred
  4. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes but that price includes a completely new kernel that has overclock settings of 800 and 1ghz and wireless tether and muti-touch default browser 2.1 gallery etc. etc. as well as OTA updates just like verizon does.

    I'm not affiliated with them, but if you are afraid of rooting yourself then this is where it's at.
  5. fredm74
    Offline

    fredm74 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sholes

    According to their site, they are going to release the .apk for FREE. $5 is just for donations. This looks very promising.
  6. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very interested... What does it set the OC to? Is there a return to stock feature? If you could spell out exactly what is offered here I think it would be very helpfull...
  7. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    wow, im in lol
  8. hacku
    Offline

    hacku New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Here's what's posted on their website so we know it's legit:

    I don't however see anything stating that you will be ever to overclock the phone.
  9. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think the first version will have a return to stock feature but I bet a later one will as this is the first feature I thought of when I considered pimping this to those uncomfortable with a manual root/OC.

    You can choose an OC of 1ghz or 800 mhz, if you choose 1ghz then 800 will be one of the clockrates used when not at full load. The proc in the droid is set to ramp up to the next highest clock setting when the proc load hits 86% I believe.
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,796
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ima check it out ill post the results
  11. Arsenalc08
    Offline

    Arsenalc08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So...

    I followed all of the instructions, but I dont see anything different at all... Uhm is there more that I am supposed to do? I dont see the recovery thing it installed and it doesnt appear as though my roms changed. Did I just do the rooting part?
  12. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you install the app? You'll know you have it if when you plug in your phone to usb you get the option to tether when you select the usb notification in the drop-down.
  13. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,796
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    right now its fc on me
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,796
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    ok just needed to click on it again
  15. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet, you got it working?
  16. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,796
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    seems like its fc but i guess its not still adding stuff
  17. Arsenalc08
    Offline

    Arsenalc08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I completed steps all the way to apply sdcard: update.zip then reboot, what do I do next?
  18. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,796
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    still installing but will keep posting on this thread
  19. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,796
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    113
    downloading sholes rom for me right now
  20. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you checked to see if you get the wi-fi tether, if you do your done, if not reboot while holding down the "x" button and make sure you get the nandroid menus.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

adb reboot.exe

,
archos gallery