1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Z4root question...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by AngelRyuxz, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Z4root temporally isn't working for my droid on the latest ota... It did install su but didn't install bb. But su didn't install because I looked for it in the system apps... And yes I have debug mode on.

    Next question, not sure if wanna try since temp didn't work, is the to try the forever root button. If a update comes it will erase root from phone, yes?

    I'd really like to get temp to work though...
    P.S never delete stock apps unless you can re download them in the market because some apps just will not re install...

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  2. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, and lol funny question, but is having busy box on phone void your phone contract? Because I noticed on the market it doesn't say anything about that it does/did

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Rooting your phone in general voids your warranty, that's why most people choose not to root their device.

    However, there are way of backing up, and restoring your phone back to an "Out of the Box" state, and unrooting then getting an insurance claim and or a different phone.

    EDIT - Sorry I missed the obvious conflict here, but here's what you might try. Try uninstalling and reinstalling the App, turning your phone off, then on. Because many people have confirmed that the z4root method works on the OTA.
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2010
  4. BrendonSF
    Offline

    BrendonSF New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of people aren't able to get Z4root to work after the latest OTA. My hunch is that it might be those of us who had rooted via the DoRoot method prior to the update. (would love to get feedback on this)
    Look around and you'll find others complaining of this problem. I can say without a doubt that Z4root no longer works for me (have tried every combination of things you can think of 20+ times)
  5. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Yes, many people are having troubles getting it to work, but on the other hand, there's those people who have gotten it to work.

    For those of you who can't obtain root by z4root or DoRoot, there still is hope.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-hacks/80080-much-simpler-guide-rooting-no-pc-required.html

    The way of doing it yourself. No app, no 1 hit wonders.

    You'll need to download Terminal Emulator from the Market, go to that link and download the necessaries and place them on your SD Card then follow the Terminal Commands to a "T".

    (This is the manual way of obtaining Root and the way I've used on both my DX and D2, I have NOT tested it on the new .340 OTA or Leak! So please be advised that I nor anyone else is responsible for your phone or your actions. You have been warned.)
  6. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I tried to d2 root method and my phone restarted as soon as I turned debug on and hooked it to the pc.. Have they maybe tried stopping us from rooting that way? Had anyone else tried?

    And the terminal rooting by phone, does it also unroot? And again does updates erase track of root?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  7. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Yes, if you use the method posted above, there are terminal commands to unroot your phone.

    And yes, some updates remove root. (Pretty much turns your phone into an "Out of the Box" state.
  8. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks that sound great.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Basically every update breaks root. That's why you unroot before you accept the update because otherwise the files are still there and rerooting can be troublesome. Often to the point of having to SBF just to reroot.

    There are terminal commands in the link in my sig that will give you root again.

    Oh, and with the X just use permanent root. It WILL unroot afterward. Rooting is entirely software and can always be undone.
  10. BrendonSF
    Offline

    BrendonSF New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait, what? The root files don't get deleted after an update?!

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Usually not, they just get their permissions broken. That's where a lot of the problems trying to reroot after an update come from.
  13. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad I sbf and now know about this. I will never delete stock app again.... Even the freaking calculator.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  14. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Glad I could help ya out. Enjoy, and goodluck!
  15. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ummmmmm I tried the free terminal emulator, and got to ./rage.bin (I'm using my files that I used to root before... may should update?) but after closing the app, and reopening it, it still has a $...
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Did you type su?
  17. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even after all that it didn't even copy to tmp. I checked using root explorer. And no I didn't type su because it didn't say to.. They're doing it totally different, I use to move su,bb, and su file before executing ./rage.bin

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  18. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could it be the terminal that I was using? Using the free one with 5 1/2 stars, the one above the TEPro.

    Sent from my DROIDX 2.2.1, system version 2.3.340 that isn't rooted using Tapatalk
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    The best one is actually just named "terminal emulator".
  20. AngelRyuxz
    Offline

    AngelRyuxz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I got that one. Did you root using this method? What were your steps?

    Edit
    I was using different one but tried yours and install was unsuccessful!
    I was using the android terminal emulator

    Sent from my DROIDX 2.2.1, system version 2.3.340 that isn't rooted using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
attempting to apply root
,
attempting to apply root z4root
,
better than z4root
,
does z4root have to be on the sd card
,
does z4root void warranty
,
download z4r00t.apk
,
gs3 code 118633
,
hat i choose z4root file for root ny phone
,
phone says attempting to apply root
,

z4r00t

,
z4r00t apk
,
z4r00t apk 3
,
z4root lockup
,

z4root stuck on attempting to apply root