Wireless Slower than 3G?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by therock, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. therock
    Offline

    therock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. GA
    I have noticed when I use wireless its is slower than my 3G. And if I swap back to 3G it remains slow until I reboot.

    What is the nature of the beast?

    Speed: 54Mbps
    Signal: Strength Good
    Security: WPA/WPA2 PSK
  2. Dawizman
    Offline

    Dawizman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your wireless connection may be 54Mbps, but what is the speed of your actual internet connection?
  3. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont know, but i have to say, my 3g is usually faster than my wifi and i have a very good wifi connection at my house usually. i guess 3g is just really fast, i dont have to reboot though, i can just disconnect from wifi
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    What are you using to test your two speeds. I only see one figure on the bottom and it doesn't show up and down.

    I use Speed Test and my wifi blows away my 3G speed. If you're getting low numbers maybe you have something that really isn't very fast like the phone companies broadband?

    Anyway if you haven't tried Speed Test it's free in the Market. :)
  5. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    I use Speedtest and I get 1.7 - 2.0 Mbps on 3G when I am close to "full bars", and standing next to my 802.11 BG router connected to RoadRunner, I get 1.9 - 2.1 Mbps on wi-fi...

    Really? This doesn't seem right.
  6. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well with speed test my wifi is faster, but pages load faster and seem to come up quicker on 3g. Maybe I'm just imaging it.
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Same conditions as you using Road Runner High Speed Turbo:

    3G Download 452 kbps, upload 476 kbps

    wifi Download 2015 kbps upload 780 kbps

    Big difference. :)
  8. jbernard703
    Offline

    jbernard703 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hey guys 1997 called, they want their speeds back. :icon_ devil: only teasing.

    wifi DL-6439 UL-2095
    3G DL-1302 UL-568

    from my laptop my Dowload speed is 16.36mbps. I love FIOS
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    One time I got a 7Mbps test on my Droid. I discounted it as a fluke. :)
  10. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    3G DL 1888 UL 804
    wifi DL 9218 UL 2655 (my comcast home connection)
    wifi DL 2790 UL 791 (neighbor DSL connection)
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Dang, I'm sitting here right under the router and I can't get anywhere near that speed. Yet when I test my modem at any test site I get amazing speeds from my computer.
  12. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware

    OK....lets solve this. Great speed from the PC, I take it that its wired. That leaves the wireless connection to be at fault. May need to tweak the settings in the wireless settings in the router webpage. Download the app "wifi analyzer". This app will give you the "cleanest" channel to change your router to. If you are on a busy channel like "6" you may need to change to 1 or 14. Check it out

    wifi analyzer scrutinizes your wireless connection for optimization
  13. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Thanks, I'm going to give this a try.
  14. therock
    Offline

    therock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. GA
    My cable connection is VERY FAST. I'll do the "wifi analyzer" thing and see.

    thanks
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, I guess I don't really understand what wifi analyzer is telling me. It gives the same amount of stars for all 14 channels and says I'm on channel 6. I have no idea how to change it to a different channel. Can someone explain?
  16. jbernard703
    Offline

    jbernard703 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    You need to access your router by typing its address into you browser. It is probably 192.168.1.1 then look through the settings to change the channel. You can look online to find your routers default IP address or use IP config to find out what it is, it will be called default gateway. Unless your have lots of other wireless things in your house or close neighbors you should be fine with whatever channel your on
  17. therock
    Offline

    therock New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. GA
    I have used "wirelessmon" by Passmark for years from my laptop and its great. You can use it for a 30 day trial. It tells me of all the networks broadcasting that my lapper adapter can see.

    Everyone it seems is on channel 6 by factory default. You can see this and make changes to get off the busy channel for a cleaner signal. I had one neighbors router that would follow mine. I go to 4, he goes to 4. Weird because I am secured and he is not and it made me wonder if he was somehow feeding off me. I fixed that.
  18. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    In your routers webpage is a utility to change frequency and channel. It's under "wireless settings" in most routers. To access your router webpage --- is a number entered into your webrowser like 192.168.2.1 or 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1

    those are the 3 most common
  19. gwlaw99
    Offline

    gwlaw99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How are people getting 1.5MB+ downloads over 3g?
  20. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    My wife insists that the router is set on automatic and the channel selection is greyed out. I'll double check though tomorrow. Thanks guys.
Search tags for this page

connecting your smartphone with wireless is usually slower t

,
is connecting your smartphone with wireless usually slower t
,
wrt150n placement