Droid Wifi mass confusion, why doesn't it work????

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by kpd216, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. kpd216
    Offline

    kpd216 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all, I know this has been covered numerous times and there are hundreds of threads making it all so confusing. The Wifi will work one day on my Droid, for a while very well, and the next not at all. Why? I have an itouch, wii, ps3, 2 laptops that work perfect.

    Status: Connected
    Speed 54mbps
    signal strength Excellent
    Security WPA/WPA2 PSK
    IP address 192.168.1.126

    Hardware Lynksys WRT54GS
    Firmware DD-WRT

    I love my droid but this is not acceptable. My wife works at home full time and her work requires the WPA/WPA2 security.

    My question is: Is there a simple solution with a simple change in settings in the router where it will allow the droid to work along with everything else? OR is it just trial and error using all the mentioned combination's others have tried. I have tweaked around with other peoples ideas with little success.

    I just needed to vent a bit. :mad:
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you broadcasting your ssid?

    Same router and firmware as you have and I connect no problem.
  3. OyVOid
    Offline

    OyVOid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    By all means I am not a techie but if someone gives me good instructions I can always follow along and get it to work. My brother is a computer programmer and he was trying to help me out by getting me hooked up to wifi. But even he couldn't get it to work. Arrrgh...Don't know. It'll wait.. I don't have time to troubleshoot with tech support at Verizon.

    But if someone on this forum does figure how to work it, please share. THANKS.
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Well, let me begin by saying that I know nothing about wifi. I use the exact same router and firmware. I just checked the settings and the only thing I noticed that was different on mine from your settings is that I have WEP security?? Not even sure that terminology is correct, but I have a WEP key and nothing about WPA/WPA2 PSK. Does that mean anything?

    Oh, and mine connects instantly everyday.
  5. jmackxiii
    Offline

    jmackxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a shot in the dark but check to make sure that your DHCP range of IPs that the Router can give out is wide enough to cover all your devices...
  6. radioz
    Offline

    radioz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did you set up your Droid with a static IP address or is it set for DHCP (automatic)?

    If it is set to static and your router is set do DHCP, it may be that the address you selected conflicts with something else on your net.

    What address range is you router set up for? Maybe not enough addresses for the number of wireless devices on your network?
  7. bastosero
    Offline

    bastosero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use WPA encryption and mine works fine. You might have to double check the settings of your router and Droid.
  8. mikes
    Offline

    mikes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any issues connecting to OpenWRT Kamikaze 8.09.2 (r18961).

    OpenWRT is set to "WPA/PSK-WPA2/PSK Mixed Mode", and the ESSID is not hidden.
  9. ceweale
    Offline

    ceweale New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a 67 page thread on the motorola support website about wifi problems. Not many solutions as of yet. I stopped caring since 3G works so well for where I'm at.
  10. berg
    Offline

    berg New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was having the same problem. My phone said it was connected, but I was unable to do anything after that. What I ended up doing (after 3 hours of trying just about everything else) was going to the website for my wireless router and I was able to download an upgrade for it. After I installed the update my droid worked fine. (It was a netgear and I had never updated it since I got it in 03 or 04). Hope that helps at least some of you.
Search tags for this page
android user@ip/share doesnâ´t work
,
driodwifi
,
droid razr wi fidoesnt work
,

droidwifi

,
droidwifi bisa wpa wpa2
,
why doesn't wifi work on android
,
why doesn't wifi work on droid
,
why doesnt my droid x work with my wpa protected home networ
,
why doesnt verizon security and protection not work on my dr
,
wifi on droid razr doesnt work