will or IS rubix 1.9.0 (non-leaked) obsolete?

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by chefb, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I been having some interesting conversations around the forum, and have got some very informed and some salty answers. Which brought me to this topic of disscussion
    Where do the non -leakers go to for further updates for our phones/ or theme them, are we out dated...maybe ......so what should we do? Do you think or know if there wil be a update that addresses the outdated build issue that the non-leak version has? What is our path from here?
  2. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    I'm still on RubiX 1.9.0 non-leaked version if it makes you feel any better. ;)

    Happy with the way things are running, so far, so I haven't felt the need to update... yet.
  3. teh_g
    Offline

    teh_g New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went from rubiX 1.9.0 on .15, sbfed to .340, installed rubix 1.9.0 for .320, then installed a patch to update a few system files. I don't see that much of a difference, but I may as well stay on the happy and updated path.
  4. Jordan8
    Offline

    Jordan8 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    +1

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  5. drod2169
    Offline

    drod2169 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 2.3.15 OTA is obsolete. It would be in your best interest to take the 2.3.340 OTA if you want further updates from verizon. I will be updating only to 2.3.340, it's confusing me as much as you guys keeping track of both :)
  6. Droid74
    Offline

    Droid74 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have updated to 2.3.340 OTA you can install Rubix Focused 1.9 Leak version and then use the patch that was provided to bring it up to speed. I did this last week and everything has been working great. Also, Themes for Focused 1.9 will still work for you.
  7. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok.... I still have my first back up , lets see if I go back to that if it will still let my update? I didn't flash a rom on tha t so the blur should be there.
  8. Jordan8
    Offline

    Jordan8 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    If your first backup was stock, all the bloatware etc there you'll be able to update without a problem.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  9. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Updated yesterday using a stock 2.2 2.3.15 backup and the 2.3.40 update zip loaded from stock recovery. Lost root, but I expected that. rerooted using Z4 Root (1.1.0).

    Probably going to throw Darkslide on it today to see what it's all about.
  10. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Its not difficult to take the OTA. Just restore a clean stock rom, defrost or restore all bloatware, remove bootstrap in root explorer, download update and install. If you have a stock theme backup just odex it.
  11. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have root explorer how and why would I remove bootstrap?
  12. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Lol I was thinking the same thing.
  13. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    If you're going to take the 2.2.1 OTA its best to also get rid of bootstrap. You can reinstall it after update. All backups and downloads are stored in clockworkmod folder in your file manager.
  14. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    But how and where do you find it in root ex.
  15. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    If you're done with getting your system back to stock you remove bootstrap by going into root explorer and deleting system/bin/hijack and delete system/bin/logwrapper then rename system/bin/logwrapper.bin to system/bin/logwrapper
  16. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Uhhh......wow,that went compleatly over my head. I've never deleted or renamed any thing in systems before..... do I do it in that orders? And when i'm ready to get it back do I have to do the same thing? Sorry for being so noobishly annoying.
  17. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
  18. chefb
    Offline

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have titanium back up to could I use that?
  19. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    No sir, root explorer is the only app with the ability to modify system apps.
  20. Droid74
    Offline

    Droid74 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The easiest way to get your phone ready for the OTA if you have done a lot of stuff to it is just to do a SBF and you will be completely good to go instead of trying to remember what you changed and what needs to get restored. Just my 2 cents.