rubix Focused 1.90 to .340 OTA

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by marcfogel, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. marcfogel

    marcfogel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If we are running rubix Focused 1.90 or any version of rubix Focused (non-leak), what is the procedure for getting .340 OTA?

    Do we have to SBF or restore from backup to stocK first?


    Thanks

    Marc
     
  2. DropC

    DropC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thomson, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can either SBF or restore a backup, but I would suggest SBF'ing. If the backup doesn't have ALL of your system .apk files, something might go wrong. If you do decide to use a backup, unroot first to be safe. But, I really reccomend SBF'ing.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. jdhas

    jdhas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll need to SBF or restore a nandroid of stock to get and install the OTA.
     
  4. marcfogel

    marcfogel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted then ran a full backup. Can we run the OTA rooted?
     
  5. sruel3216

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    wait so is the ota update live right now?
     
  6. DropC

    DropC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thomson, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't run it rooted, just to be safe. You'll more than likely loose root anyway. And, I've had strange things happen with backups between ROMs, so I still suggest SBFing.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. cruckus

    cruckus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I gotta wait till a leak comes out cause I don't have any bloat but I can't go back to my old backup since the new leak changed my bootloader
     
  8. Porterhouse0

    Porterhouse0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the OTA even worth all the trouble...? What will we receive that will make it worth SBFing?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. marcfogel

    marcfogel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Eventually all new roms will be based on them
     
  10. sruel3216

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but i dont think u will need to do the ota. i have never done a verizon ota on my droid 1 or x. i just updated to the leak a few mins ago. there will always be a way around the ota
     
  11. marcfogel

    marcfogel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If that is the case I will not OTA. The only reason I thought we would have to OTA is because if we wanted to install rubix 1.90 leak we first had to install the leak from TBH.

    I am relatively new to this but I am learning :icon_eek:
     
  12. andylulzyou

    andylulzyou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also wondering if it's possible to update to .340 via Clockwork?