Widget Locker eating my RAM...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by LT*, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm wondering if anyone else is having this issue with Widget locker. Since installing it, I've had my D3 come to a complete slowdown after unlocking the phone. When I check Running apps in settings, WL is using up 75-90 MB of RAM. Stopping and restarting it in the settings menu seems to fix it for a while. I also notice that WL can use from around 6MB to 30MB at any given time. If nothing is changing with configuration, why is there such a huge swing in RAM usage?

    Another annoying issue with WL is that the clock widget provided has a cool swipe down feature to see your battery %. Unfortunately, it always reads 100%. Not so helpful.
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I've run widgetlocker on my D3 since I got it with no issues via ram. Although I only use it as a minimal lockscreen.

    This could depend on what widgets you have running on the lockscreen.

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862
  3. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the built in clock widget and it's happened with both ICS and Sense lock screens. I've emailed the Dev, but haven't heard back
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Have you tried uninstalling and re-installing?
  5. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have not...but will
  6. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finally got around to Un / Re installing this. It hasn't run away with my RAM yet, but it's still using around 30MB. That seems like way more than it should need to me. Considering when it starts, it uses very little, but as it runs, it seems to need more and more RAM.
  7. Heywood
    Offline

    Heywood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    You arent the first to mention this issue and it is indeed odd. WL on my X2 (similar specs) with only minimal lockscreen only uses 8 megs.
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
  8. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, that seems more like what I'd expect. Still waiting on the Dev for an answer.
Search tags for this page

widgetlocker by diego. ram