[TOOL] How to GAIN ROOT on SM-N900V while running MJ7

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 3' started by KaChow, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. jsandy

    jsandy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    I can't get Kingo to connect to my phone. I have enabled USB debugging. I have tried 3 different 2.0 USB cords (Even borrowed one from my wife's s4 so it would be Samsung). I have tried each of the cords in each of my 4 USB ports. I am running Windows 7. When I plug the phone in the computer recognizes it. The phone has a message in the notification bar that is "Connected as an installer". Any suggestions?

    Never mind. Found a 4th USB cord and that one worked.
     
  2. gthotie5

    gthotie5 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    MTKcamera Installed on my phone when i was using the Kingo app to root.
    Anyone else get this?

    Edit: Although im not sure if it will take it away or not,
    I did a factory reset in recovery.
    Edit 2:
    Sorry for hijacking the thread but is there anyway to make my note 3 back to stock after rooting and SS? (I did update to MJ7 while still stock)
     
  3. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Well ...

    I've went and done it. Rooted and loaded Safestrap and Custom Recovery. Used TriangleAway to rid myself of the annoying CUSTOM boot logo and all is good. Now I have a couple of quick SafeStrap Noob questions ...

    Why does it state "SafeStrap: Disabled" when booting and at the RECOVERY or CONTINUE screen? Do I have to have a ROM SLOT active for that to not show? All I have is the STOCK ROM for now. Nervous about flashing a ROM when it says Safe Strap is disabled at boot.


    Thanks!!
     
  4. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +676
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Yes you have to have one of the other ROM slots active for it to say enabled.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +676
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    This will do it

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2483380

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
     
  6. gthotie5

    gthotie5 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thank You Sydaman :)
     
  7. KaChow

    KaChow Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    143
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +143
    Yep, Sydman is right, as soon as you flash a custom ROM in suggesting using the ROM Slot 1 Safestrap will be Enabled and that Robot will stop looking "hunched over" and more like "fried green robot" instead. I would suggest Flashing Beanstown106's JB Version 3 ROM it's pretty smooth and it has custom dialer which is something you wanted from the get go, here is the link. ★☞[Rom][4.3] Jelly 'Beans' - Build 3 [12/01/13][AOSP Themed][P900VVRUBMJ7]☜★ - xda-developers
     
  8. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Wow. Kachow (heh, that rhymes). You and Sydman are johnny-on-the-spot with the answers. You guys ROCK!!

    Funny you should mention Beanstown ROM, I had downloaded earlier today and was just awaiting confirmation before flashing. One more thing, if you and Sydman don't mind ...

    Is the flashing process w/ SafeStrap as follows?:

    1. Place the desired ROM file on the SD or EXT-SD storage space
    2. Boot into SS Recovery
    3. Select and activate a ROM SLOT
    4. Go to INSTALL and select the ROM to be flashed
    5. Re-Verify the desired ROM SLOT is selected and active (not the STOCK SLOT)
    6. Flash as you would normally via TWRP recovery

    Is that all there is to it? Any other tips or traps to watch out for?

    Thanks again guys. Off tomorrow due to ICE in the Dallas, TX area and I've got the whole day to play!! :D
     
  9. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6,099
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +2,741
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I just want to make sure you've created the Rom slot already ..I didn't see anywhere on previous posts that you've created the slot. ..

    Starts around 6:57 part of video

    Good video info on Safestrap [Thanks to boynamedstacy @ XDA]


    Once the slot is created... you will activate the ROM slot. . It should show green on top where it says slot. .. Don't forget you need to do your wipes before you flash beans as you want a fresh install. .


    N3 tapa
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yes I have already created the SLOT, but did fail to include it in my steps. I appreciate the video and will certainly take the time to review it completely.

    Also -- by performing my WIPES prior to installing the ROM, would that be the Cache and Dalvik cache wipe? My ROM slot is EMPTY at this point, or was the SYSTEM partition and all that copied from STOCK ROM Slot when the Custom ROM SLOT was created?

    Again -- Thanks!!!



    Edit: Wow. That video was quite good. Actually answers all my remaining questions!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. bkdodger

    bkdodger Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6,099
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +2,741
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Yup ..I always do my wipes (even though you don't have anything in that slot yet) ..I currently have Beans in slot 1 ...I actually have CleanROM in the stock slot...

    Beans should be putting out update build tonight or tomorrow...

    Here's another video for beans created by RootJunky

     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Adding Rootjunky to my favorites list. Thanks!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page
how do i root my samsung sm-n900v
,
how to root samsung sm-n900v
,
how to root sm-n900v
,
kingo root note 3
,
n900v root
,
root n900v
,
root note 3 mj7
,
root sm-n900v
,
sm-n900v
,

sm-n900v root