rooting

graygrannyonate

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to the Droid, but enjoying and learning. Reading here, I keep seeing the term rooting, but am not finding enough information to tell me what that is. If, after I figure it, how does one root, and does that actually void my warranty?

What are the advantages or disadvantages?

I went to the Market to find a program that will take screen shots. They say they can only be used on a rooted phone.

Would someone please explain, or send me to the link about rooting that isn't coming up when I search . . .or, well, whatever I need?

Thanks!
Debbie

hedney3

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to the Droid, but enjoying and learning. Reading here, I keep seeing the term rooting, but am not finding enough information to tell me what that is. If, after I figure it, how does one root, and does that actually void my warranty?

What are the advantages or disadvantages?

I went to the Market to find a program that will take screen shots. They say they can only be used on a rooted phone.

Would someone please explain, or send me to the link about rooting that isn't coming up when I search . . .or, well, whatever I need?

Thanks!
Debbie
well first off welcome to the community!

second Why (and How) to Root Your Android Phone | Smarterware
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/632-what-root-means-stop-asking.html
this should be everything you need to know.

rooting basically unlocks you phone from any limitations.

if you need any help just pm me:)

jsh1120

Silver Member
Reaction score
Grannie,

The term "root" comes from the user name traditionally given to a "super-user" in the Unix operating system and its derivatives. (It also refers to the "root" of a file system (think "folders") where files needed by the operating system are stored.)