1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Phone will not ring on incoming calls, only vibrates:

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by neddo, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. neddo
    Offline

    neddo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Droid X will not ring upon [COLOR=#812528 ! important][COLOR=#812528 ! important]incoming [COLOR=#812528 ! important]calls[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR][​IMG]
    , it resorts to vibrating everytime. My ringtone used to work and play loud, but now all it does is resort to a default vibration.



    I have uninstalled all apps, rebooted in safe mode. I've done a factory reset after spending an hour on the phone with 2 VZW reps, and this problem has returned.

    Sound and Display information:

    Silent Mode: Box is Grayed out (off)
    Ringer Volume: Slider is all the way to the right (see NOTE*)
    [COLOR=#812528 ! important][COLOR=#812528 ! important]Phone [COLOR=#812528 ! important] [/COLOR][COLOR=#812528 ! important]Ringtone[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] is set to the default Droid X ringtone (which worked initially after turning my phone on the first time)
    Phone Vibrate box is Grayed out (off)
    Both Smart Sensor Settings at the bottom are grayed out (off)


    NOTE* When going into Sound and Display Settings and moving the Ringer Volume slidebar, the ringtone plays LOUD and as it should. Also noted is that I'm not an idiot, the sound is turned all the way up with the volume rocker on the side.

    Another note is that incoming [COLOR=#812528 ! important][COLOR=#812528 ! important]text [COLOR=#812528 ! important]messages[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] work as they should, with the ringtone going off (DRRROOOOOIIIDDD).


    List of previously installed Apps:
    Dolphin HD Browser
    Kindle for Android
    Scorecenter
    Braves News
    Pandora
    Tapatalk
    Adobe PDF Viewer
    Google Earth
    Google Stars (point at sky to see constellations, can't remember exact name)
    The Weather Channel
    Facebook for Android
    Barcode Scanner
    Engadget



    If any other information is needed, just ask (through a PM preferentially). Thanks.
  2. Freedoom
    Offline

    Freedoom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Advance Task Manger, put it to ignore "People," just kinda figuring you forgot to put advanced task manager on your list, if you don't have it, I don't know.
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  3. jkevinmcg
    Offline

    jkevinmcg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spotswood, NJ
    I'm in the same boat as neddo. My situation started after I invoked the "Smart Profile:Face Down" feature. Phone rang like it should, I put it face down, it switched to vibrate and now I can't get the phone to switch to non-vibrate mode no matter what I do. I have called Motorola twice and they have never returned my calls. I'll try again tomorrow. :-(
  4. lynngor70458
    Offline

    lynngor70458 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Face Down Problem

    My phone had the same issue today. It worked fine until I tried that face down thing when it rang. I was on the phone with Tech Support over an hour and did a factory reset. I then had to start all over again customizing it and downloading apps. The Verizon people said she did not know anything about this but if it happened to a few people, they would see if it was a software bug. Looks like it is! Don't enable this feature in your settings!
  5. jkevinmcg
    Offline

    jkevinmcg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spotswood, NJ
    I spent about 30 minutes with Verizon; no luck. Did not do a factory reset as I see that the problem returned for neddo. I will wait for the new update to be pushed to my phone and then will see what the result is and report back. I love the phone but I need it to ring. How they could miss this in testing is beyond me. I wonder what else is lurking? Unfortunately I will return it if that doesn't work.
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please refrain from cross posting...
  7. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, Just remove Advanced Task Killer as it's not needed.
  8. ohnoyoudidnt
    Offline

    ohnoyoudidnt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flint
    I was in the same boat. i have done the factory reset and been about 20ish hours since and i still have ringtones, but when i did put it back to the face down silence it happened numerous times. so i just have not turned that feature on, besides that a factory reset worked for me. and i am waiting to install the new update a little bit.
  9. neddo
    Offline

    neddo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, since my second factory reset I have refrained from adding the smart sensor settings and that has seemed to be the magical answer.

    All in all, don't use the smart sensor settings! I'm sure it will be patched in an update; however, I wouldn't hold my breath. A factory reset is a huge inconvenience, but it'll return your ringtones (worth it, IMO).
  10. ohnoyoudidnt
    Offline

    ohnoyoudidnt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flint
    i just installed the update, time to test the facedown smart option again
    edit.. will have to wait for a call since i cannot call myself
  11. jkevinmcg
    Offline

    jkevinmcg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spotswood, NJ
    Installed the update before doing the factory reset; no change. Did the reset and got my ringtones back. Motorola finally called after 30 hours. After I told her the problem, she said she was unaware and that she would call me back in 30 minutes. Oh well, I might hear from her yet. When I do I'll update this thread.
  12. orlandotommy
    Offline

    orlandotommy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Same here!

    I had turned that feature on a couple days ago and just decided to turn it off, once i did the thing only vibrates, i have spent days customizing this phone and im not so cool with reseting everything, im a loyal BB user and i guess this is one of the reasons ive always stayed with a BB, this kind of stuff doesnt happen.
    I will do one factory reset but after that the phone goes in the trash and its back to BBland for me. This is not acceptable, i even installed a update that was pushed out by Verizon today and that didnt fix it.:icon_evil:
  13. wprocter
    Offline

    wprocter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    another instance

    same issue here.... not too big of a deal to me, but would like the option of hearing a ring now and then

    might try a factory reset this weekend, but would rather not
  14. wprocter
    Offline

    wprocter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    reset works

    did a factory reset and the problem was corrected.

    it would be nice to have the face down silence option... don't feel like trying to see if it magically now works only to have to do another reset
  15. Thalinor
    Offline

    Thalinor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This did not work for me, but after a few hours I decided to try something on a whim that did, the following is how I solved the problem.

    Download the free app called "System Panel" from the Google store. My version is the paid one, which makes the app run in the task bar for easy use but I don't think it matters if you have the free or paid version. The program is a task killer but seems to be more advanced then the typical task killer app.

    I had the following settings checked; I don’t know if it matters and the only reason they were this way was because I was randomly turning things off and on while trying to fix this issue when I decided to try the following trick. I honestly did not think it would work so its not like I really was paying attention to what settings were turned off and on at the time. Anyway, provided just in case it does matter:

    Sound & Display:

    Silent Mode UNCHECKED
    Ringer Volume Max, Incoming Volume for Notifications UNCHECKED, Notification Volume Max
    Ringtone: Droid Speaks (Because I wanted her to speak to me again, lol)
    Phone Vibrate UNCHECKED
    Audible Touchtone CHECKED
    Haptic Feedback UNCHECKED
    Double-Tap to Silence UNCHECKED
    Smart Profile: Face Down CHECKED

    1) Start System Panel
    2) Look for the "End All" at the bottom center of the screen. Tap It.
    3) By default you will see System Apps and Excluded Apps (The first two lines) greyed out. Active Apps, Background Apps, and Inactive Apps will all be colored from olive to green.
    4) IMPORTANT - Tap on "System Apps" in the list. You will see "Excluded Apps" turn brown and "System Apps" turn red if you did it right.
    5) Click on the "End Tasks" button. This will crash the System Panel App, and everything else you have running.
    6) Wait about 2 minutes for everything to start up again on your phone.
    7) Cross your fingers and call your phone. Worked for me.
    8) Go into system settings and UNCHECK Smart Profile: Face Down


    Hope this helps!

    PS: Thank you Birdman for ROOT; you are amazing.
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2010
  16. jdenisonsales
    Offline

    jdenisonsales New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a customer supprort Rep for Verizon and I've helped a few people with this issue. The latest software update did not fix this issue, but Motorola support is aware of the problem. After factory reset if the smart profiles are left unchecked and the caller I'd readout isn't set thishas fixed the issue for my customers. I would be patient and wait for a software fix in the near future.
  17. Thalinor
    Offline

    Thalinor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know but the fix I posted above worked WITHOUT having to do a factory reset. I am not sure why a battery pull does not work but this does; my guess is that even with a battery pull or turning your phone off, some settings are retained in memory. System Panel can crash everything running if you follow my post above correctly. It fixed my problem without a factory reset. To date, no one else has posted a fix that worked for me which did not include a factory reset. I tried the above on a whim and found it to fix the problem. I was quite shocked and did not really think it would work.

    I posted it here and other forums because if others try and it works for them then we have a fix that does not include a factory reset!
  18. jdenisonsales
    Offline

    jdenisonsales New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not saying ur fix doesn't work and nice job! Just thought I would throw my two cents in. Thanks
  19. Thalinor
    Offline

    Thalinor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No worries, I did not mean that in any negative way and I completely understood you were just posting info that VZW knew of the issue. Thank you for that too!

    What I meant was, this MAY help people not have to factory reset and loose all their apps, etc. There is no guarantee, but it did fix my issue where all the other suggestions (besides factory reset) failed. A Motorola tech reported that answering a call, turning off the back light via the sensor and then trying to position the phone flat solved his issue. Many other people posted back it did not work for them; myself included. This trick which worked for me, may not work for others just like the Motorola guys only worked for him. I posted it in hope that it does work for someone, but again no way to be sure till others report back.

    Glad to hear VZW is working on the issue. Now, if they will only tell Blockbuster to piss off and re-enable the HDMI port for general use so I can display Powerpoint presentations on a projector, I will be very happy! No one is seriously going to copy their $4 low rez 240X320 movies when there are "Hypothetically" much cheaper ($1 redbox + ripping software) or free (torrent) methods of obtaining movies. This paranoid thinking and archaic business model is the reason Blockbuster is bankrupt. VZW and Moto are just being dragged down by Blockbusters nonsense!

    The moment I had root, the first app to go was blockbuster. After that Skype, Amazon MP3, and Kindle. Please tell your employer to keep your bloatware off my phone! If I want it I will download it myself!
  20. wprocter
    Offline

    wprocter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    good info

    Thalinor....great fix tip and info... wish I had waited just one more day before a reset. lol

    good to hear VZW is aware of the problem.
Search tags for this page
android no ringtone for incoming call
,
android will not ring
,
galaxy s3 not ringing
,
galaxy s4 not ringing
,
my android phone wont ring it just vibrates
,
my galaxy s3 dont ring only vibrates
,
my galley 4 is not ringing
,

my phone wont ring

,

my phone wont ring only vibrates

,
no ring only vibration when i receive call
,
s4 verizon wont ring
,
samsung galaxy s4 wont ring only vibrates
,
sgs3 only vibrates no ring tone
,
why my phone wont ring
,
wy android phone wont ring