1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

no copy & paste?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mapexvenus, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    does the gmail client not have copy / paste capability?
  2. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    589
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Hold down the shift key, then use your finger to highlight text. Text is automatically copied to clipboard.
  3. reggin
    Offline

    reggin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or press and hold in the field you're trying to copy, it'll bring up a menu to copy. Then when you want to paste, do the same thing, press and hold in the field and a menu pops up to paste.

    Edit: that's just to copy certain things, like a new e-mail, or a form with your absurdly long e-mail address from work...like mine when trying to setup e-mail accounts...
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2009
  4. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thank you. No offense to you, but I think that this is a terrible implementation of the feature. Not only is it difficult to accurately select text but you also don't get to change your selection. To make it even more user unfriendly, you have to slide out the keyboard to do this.

    Sad.
  5. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I want to do is copy text from the body of the email. The approach you suggested does not work.
  6. lennywc
    Offline

    lennywc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no decent copy and paste function

    How in gods name did this device get released to the public without a real copy / paste function? This is awful. What idiots.
    The iPhone was released without copy/ paste also and apple almost had a riot on its hands. They fixed it and the copy / paste function they added is fantastic, it has a history function that is great. Why did Google fail us like this? It s enough to make me want to go back to my iPhone. So disappointing. Did they actually think we would welcome this pathetic copy/paste function as an acceptable alternative? Ughhhhh.... ..
  7. nate94gt
    Offline

    nate94gt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree. thats one of my big complaints w/ the OS thus far... copy/paste is evil

    lucky for me, i have very little reason to use it
  8. lennywc
    Offline

    lennywc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    copy paste

    And don't forget, you can only copy 1 screen of data at a time. WTF??
  9. xwera43
    Offline

    xwera43 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed... But try using the D-pad to move the cursor for a more precise process.

    ~X
  10. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Beta Team

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    This is definitely one of the annoyances I have with the OS, it's so difficult to pick a place precisely. I find myself tapping ten times before it goes to where I actually want it. No wonder why they included a d-pad. I've actually started to like the hard keyboard and d-pad more than the soft keyboard for typing things out.
  11. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay maybe I'm missing something but when I longpress on text nothing happens. Neither in emails or online. If I press the menu button it'll let me select but automatically pasres to the clipboard. How do you access the clipboard? Is an apparently needed for this?
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2009
  12. lennywc
    Offline

    lennywc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good question. Beats the hell out of me!
  13. Riley42
    Offline

    Riley42 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't access the clipboard it's just stored in memory. Select menu and then paste to get what's on the clipboard on screen. The copy and paste is horrid. All they need to do is implement multi touch!!!, and don't auto copy. Let me select then hit menu to say thats what I want copied.
  14. moosc
    Offline

    moosc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    lincolnton nc
    I'm hoping we can get app for copy n paste. I thought bb was tough in 5.0. But this bad the app needs to work in all aspects of the OS in apps in core messaging etc please do this.
Search tags for this page
clipboard missing from s4
,

clipboard on droid 2

,
how to access clipboard on galaxy s4