[KERNEL] Kernel (deprimed_test) - Break It If You Can

Discussion in 'Droid Kernels' started by prime, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    It is a kernel driver, it may or may not be directly related to the your currently running kernel.
  2. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im using the new reprimed. havent really tested it, but im trying to understand what the problem is/was with the 3gdrop
  3. lotus22
    Offline

    lotus22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Prime- Awesome batt life on update #4.
  4. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Prime,
    Are CPU temps supposed to be working on test 4? I'm not getting any cpu temps.
  5. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    No temp monitoring, I was testing if it was causing a load issue.

    New test kernel about to drop, will upload after a little test drive.

    (Temp enabled BTW) it was not an issue
  6. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Updated OP, new kernel is up for testing.
  7. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    From my understanding there was talk of a kernel driver that resolved this issue in previous versions of android, I have not seen this driver or even looked into it.

    Let me know if you still have the issue with this kernel and I will see what I can find out.
  8. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Loads while charging on my laptop, had not been doing much but still these loads are impressive if sync is on (which it is and I get boatloads of emails):

    [​IMG]
  9. DMal9782
    Offline

    DMal9782 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Compcache broken for me on tests 4 and 5
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats nice lookin! i see your still using setcpu?
    and as far as the 3gdrop is concerned it is still happening.
    i was attempting to test it and the first call ( to voicemail) took 17 seconds. the second call, like 3 min later, is taking so far 2 minutes to come back, and it isnt even trying. like the 3g icon popped up briefly after the call and then went away to never return...
  11. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    I figured the detection code that was entered into git would fail...if they had left it alone....&*%$#! $!#@

    Numbers 4 & 5 deprimed kernels are using zram (new method and much better), zram is what broke compcache (ramzswap) for us on Droid...now we have zram and they added detection code for devices that don't have it....guess what happened.
  12. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait...im confused...lol happens easily
  13. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol. my 3g came back after about 10 minutes...random
  14. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    I install and uninstall SetCPU at will, I'm sure we will be able to use it again in the future...if he would simply recompile with the gingerbread SDK things it would let him know of the API that is causing the issue.

    It's a simple app to get these stats, just can't find time to even open Eclipse...I don't even have the honeycomb SDK yet.
  15. mightybrick
    Offline

    mightybrick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Utah
    Is anything special required to use zram? Any setting that needs to be toggled or is it taken care of in the background without any user input? Or is zram what is used in place of compache when compcache is toggled in settings?
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
  16. foxdog
    Offline

    foxdog New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    test 5 use zram? just installed it and im not getting anything under swap. compcache stats in terminal gives me "failed to open /dev/block/ramswap0: no such file or directory" i can flash shahyer's compcache helper thing then install test 5 but i thought ramswap came with your kernels now
  17. DMal9782
    Offline

    DMal9782 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I figured as much, just trying to be a good test subject and keep you updated, test 5 running like a beast otherwise



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  18. prime
    Offline

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Re-download and flash, compcache should be working correctly now. Let me know if it doesn't.
  19. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you see my previous reply about the 3g thing?
  20. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south jersey
    Nice, I just downloaded and will be flashing. :)

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
busybox insmod: page allocation failure.
,
can't create /proc/sys/vm/drop caches: nonexistent directory
,
d1 deprimed test
,

deprimed kernel

,
deprimed kernel droid
,
directory non existent error in link2sd
,
directory nonexistent link2sd
,
droid1 deprimed test
,
ffffffff 00000000 s/inroot
,
fiops vs sio
,
lg c660 how to overclock kernel
,
link2sd directory nonexistent
,
link2sd failure directory nonexistent
,
primed kernel
,
yaffs2 cannot allocate memory