How To Switch Between 3G And 4G On HTC Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Sweet Daddy, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. versedconcepts

    versedconcepts New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure when your changing from 4g to 3g that your prl is upto date . If not you may only get 1x or no data at all. Current prl as of today is 15008

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  2. jkaod

    jkaod Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +61
    OK. Enlighten me. What the heck is a prl and how do I know if it's up to date?? Do they have expiration dates printed on them like a cup of yogurt?
     
  3. ToastyZ71

    ToastyZ71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    if after switching to 3G and you get no 3G icon/signal, turn off the phone and on again.
     
  4. wallstreet123456

    wallstreet123456 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do a reboot after you make the change.
     
  5. thesandman51

    thesandman51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Took the phone in the other day, they said not to do a Prl update, apparently that's not good for this phone for whatever reason. Anyway, the Guy at Verizon cleaned the sim card and that seemed to do the trick.
     
  6. tata0427

    tata0427 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the easiest way to do it is go to the android market and search for "LTE OnOff". it's an app to change from 4G to 3G without entering any codes or going through the phone. i've had it for over a week now its great
     
  7. jogutier

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone works a lot better with it being left on stock mode. Not sure why ppl want to turn it off.

    Sent from a bolt of lighting!
     
  8. m@tt

    m@tt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Switching your phone to 3g will save on battery usage. If you want to switch in back enable airplane mode on/off you should be good to go. I noticed huge improvement yesterday after learning about LTE app.
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't agree...I did this for the first week of having the TB and I was getting 6 to 8 hrs, Now I leave it alone and I'm getting 14+
     
  10. m@tt

    m@tt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    I guess this could be you have 4g coverage in your area. Not all of Houston areas are 4g yet. I noticed when it switches from 4g to 3g is when using most of the battery. Work for me.
     
  11. JohnnytheK

    JohnnytheK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +35
    Does the 'extended controls' widget work on the TB?

    I think it has 3g-4g button you can set up?
     
  12. m@tt

    m@tt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Update, I was able to get a complete day out of my extended battery with switching to 3g only. At night I charger my phone, but by 11pm had 50% left. I tend to use my phone for call,texts,facebook, whatever it's pretty much used all day. I have to say using LTE app works for me.
     
  13. Blackcharger06

    Blackcharger06 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    hmm

    What is the difference between this, and calling ##778#, going to edit, Modem Settings, REV A, and then hitting enable, menu and commit to mods? Sounds like the same thing, maybe I am missing something..


    Brian
     
  14. wlharris63

    wlharris63 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    motorola

    how do i switc back from 3g to 4g on motorola android 2?
    [​IMG]

    If you already have a Verizon HTC Thunderbolt you will most probably notice that there isn't an easy, user-friendly way of switching 4G off or flipping a switch to 3G.

    If you're an advanced user who's not afraid to enter test menus and tweak setting you will be able to expose a 3G/4G option which will allow you to choose between the two standards. You have to go into the Dialer and call *#*#4636#*#* which will take you to the Thunderbolt's Test Menu. Head over to Phone Information and Set Preferred Network Type according to your liking: available options are LTE and EV-DO, EV-DO only, and LTE only. To switch back, follow the same steps, only this time choose LTE Mode and select CDMA + LTE / EvDo auto.

    Note: Playing with Advanced Setting and Test Menus is dangerous and you are doing it at your own risk!

    Source: AndroidCentral Forums
    Via: Engadget[/QUOTE]
     
  15. amitime

    amitime New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    downloaded it very easily (i'm not rooted). switched to 3G using cdma auto (prl). but, how do i switch back to 4G and when do i know to do it?
     
Search tags for this page
enable 4g on thunderbolt
,
how to enable 4g on htc thunderbolt
,
how to switch from 4g to 3g on htc thunderbolt
,
how to switch thunderbolt to 3g
,
how to turn on 4g on htc thunderbolt
,

how to turn on 4g on thunderbolt

,
htc thunderbolt switching from 3g to 4g
,
thunderbolt turn on 4g
,
turn 4g on thunderbolt
,
turn on 4g htc thunderbolt