How To Switch Between 3G And 4G On HTC Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Sweet Daddy, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. pcm2a

    pcm2a Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same for me. I don't see a 3g or anything beside my signal bar with the CDMA auto.
     
  2. thesandman51

    thesandman51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also not getting any 3g when the 4g loses it's signal, so I think I need to get it switched out.
     
  3. bdonical

    bdonical New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. I can make calls but can't do email, internet, etc.
     
  4. versedconcepts

    versedconcepts New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure when your changing from 4g to 3g that your prl is upto date . If not you may only get 1x or no data at all. Current prl as of today is 15008

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  5. jkaod

    jkaod Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +128
    OK. Enlighten me. What the heck is a prl and how do I know if it's up to date?? Do they have expiration dates printed on them like a cup of yogurt?
     
  6. ToastyZ71

    ToastyZ71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    if after switching to 3G and you get no 3G icon/signal, turn off the phone and on again.
     
  7. wallstreet123456

    wallstreet123456 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do a reboot after you make the change.
     
  8. thesandman51

    thesandman51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Took the phone in the other day, they said not to do a Prl update, apparently that's not good for this phone for whatever reason. Anyway, the Guy at Verizon cleaned the sim card and that seemed to do the trick.
     
  9. tata0427

    tata0427 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the easiest way to do it is go to the android market and search for "LTE OnOff". it's an app to change from 4G to 3G without entering any codes or going through the phone. i've had it for over a week now its great
     
  10. jogutier

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone works a lot better with it being left on stock mode. Not sure why ppl want to turn it off.

    Sent from a bolt of lighting!
     
  11. m@tt

    m@tt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Switching your phone to 3g will save on battery usage. If you want to switch in back enable airplane mode on/off you should be good to go. I noticed huge improvement yesterday after learning about LTE app.
     
  12. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    I don't agree...I did this for the first week of having the TB and I was getting 6 to 8 hrs, Now I leave it alone and I'm getting 14+
     
Search tags for this page
enable 4g on thunderbolt
,
how to enable 4g on htc thunderbolt
,
how to switch from 4g to 3g on htc thunderbolt
,
how to switch thunderbolt to 3g
,
how to turn on 4g on htc thunderbolt
,

how to turn on 4g on thunderbolt

,
htc thunderbolt switching from 3g to 4g
,
thunderbolt turn on 4g
,
turn 4g on thunderbolt
,
turn on 4g htc thunderbolt