Do I need to switch from a 3g plan to 4g?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Laur3nNewm4n, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hello,

    I recently purchased an HTC Thunderbolt at a great price on Swappa. I currently have a Motorola Droid, with the $29.99 unlimited 3g plan. My question is, do I need to talk to Verizon and switch to a 4g plan somehow? Will this extend my contract? Will it break the original 3g contract? How do I handle this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. FrellingFrakker

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should probably call Verizon and ask. The 4g plan is $29.99 so it won't cost any more money, but I'm not sure if that will change your contract.
     
  3. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hopefully some people who have gone this route, instead of "properly" upgrading will comment. Thanks for your reply.
     
  4. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Assuming you bought the phone unsubsidized, just call Verizon and tell them you want to activate it and de-activate your old phone, and stay on the same voice+data plan. You shouldn't have any problems.
     
  5. smmfc

    smmfc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought mine on Craigslist and when I called Verizon to ask this very question I was told no I didn't have to make any changes they said it would automatically change to 4g if needed but no price changes would be made to my plan as I also had the 29.99 plan on my of Droid
    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes, I bought it unsubsidized. I'd LIKE to use the 4G network, though - do you have any experience with that? If it's going to break the 3G contract, or start a new contract agreement with a 4G plan, I'll just stay on 3G for now.
     
  7. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Great to hear!

    Also - what's the deal with the SIM card? I didn't think Verizon did SIM cards because they're CDMA.
     
  8. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would go ahead and make sure you lock in a 4g plan before they go tiered sometime this summer.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt!!
     
  9. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Right, but do I have to extend my contract / change my plan to do so? I'm not up for an official upgrade until March of 2012, so that's why I bought this phone unsubsidized. I'd love to use LTE, but I also don't want to further extend my contract and "waste" it on the Thunderbolt, nor do I want to break my current 3G contract to get an LTE plan.

    Essentially, I need to know if I can just activate the Thunderbolt on the network, and have Verizon move me over to an LTE plan without extending, breaking, or signing a new contract. And if it's easy as just calling and having them switch it, does that mean I'm in on the unlimited LTE? Or would I only get that by signing a new contract agreement?
     
  10. johnd09

    johnd09 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would probably be best to call them and find out, I feel like they will just change your current plan to a 4g without extending. And I would not think it would break your 3g contract I would think they would just modify it to include LTE.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt!!
     
  11. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    Alright. Thanks for your reply, I'll just have to call them when I get it in.
     
  12. Kid A

    Kid A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it's any help, I got my Thunderbolt in March and LTE was included in the 3G plan. That meant I was paying the same $30 a month I paid for my Droid 1. I'm currently locked into paying that price until my contract ends and I'll be grandfathered in if VZW changes the plan pricing during my current contract.
     
Search tags for this page
can i activate a 4g phone on a 3g plan
,
do i have to change my plan for a 4g phone
,
do i need a 4g plan
,
do i need a 4g plan with a 4g phone
,
do you have to change your plan on verizon to go to 4g
,
do you have to have a 4g plan for a 4g phone
,
do you have to have a different plan for 4g phones
,

do you need a 4g plan for a 4g phone

,
do you need a different data plan for 4g
,
if i have a 4g phone do i need a 4g plan