How To Switch Between 3G And 4G On HTC Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Sweet Daddy, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. Sweet Daddy
    Offline

    Sweet Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    How To Switch Between 3G And 4G On HTC Thunderbolt

    [​IMG]

    If you already have a Verizon HTC Thunderbolt you will most probably notice that there isn't an easy, user-friendly way of switching 4G off or flipping a switch to 3G.

    If you're an advanced user who's not afraid to enter test menus and tweak setting you will be able to expose a 3G/4G option which will allow you to choose between the two standards. You have to go into the Dialer and call *#*#4636#*#* which will take you to the Thunderbolt's Test Menu. Head over to Phone Information and Set Preferred Network Type according to your liking: available options are LTE and EV-DO, EV-DO only, and LTE only. To switch back, follow the same steps, only this time choose LTE Mode and select CDMA + LTE / EvDo auto.

    Note: Playing with Advanced Setting and Test Menus is dangerous and you are doing it at your own risk!

    Source: AndroidCentral Forums
    Via: Engadget
     
  2. DJStormX
    Offline

    DJStormX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told for 3G to use CDMA auto (PRL). Whats the difference between that and EvDo only?
     
  3. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    EVDO only will turn off the cdma radio as well. Since the tb can do voice over 3G, this would probably still let you make phonecalls, but would prevent sending/receiving texts, since they're sent over the 1x cdma network.

    However, if you use google voice for all texts, you could see a substantial increase in battery life using evdo only (since gv texts over data). The downside is 3G reception is not as ubiquitous as cdma, and unless you're smothered in 3G coverage, you could lose signal in certain spots, particularly indoors.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  4. JRunner01
    Offline

    JRunner01 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So this requires you to go into the phones service menu to turn on and off 4G, unlike the EVO from ATT that allows you to do it via the user settings, correct?

    I thought this was leading to it will enable the user setting to then turn on and off 4G, not that you can only do this from the service menu itself.
     
  5. gvanmeter
    Offline

    gvanmeter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The easier way to do it is download the "phone info" app from the market...works great.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  6. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    It works great, but I guess I would like to know is the user interface friendly.
     
  7. NickWBurns
    Offline

    NickWBurns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the "phone info" app, what should I be setting it to if I don't want to use 4g? Whenever Im around WiFi I use that and have no battery problems but when I'm between 4g and 3g it gets drained. So whats the best option I should set it to?


    Sent through a bolt of lightning
     
  8. gvanmeter
    Offline

    gvanmeter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    CDMA auto (PRL) is what you want.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  9. camaroguy41208
    Offline

    camaroguy41208 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  10. CsonkaBear
    Offline

    CsonkaBear Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SW OH.
    Ratings:
    +0

    +1 Ditto!!! dancedroid
     
  11. n0yxl
    Offline

    n0yxl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    2nd. 10char
     
  12. thesandman51
    Offline

    thesandman51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having a bit if a problem. I'm able to disable the 4g by switching to cdma auto, but the 3g doesn't work...I get no internet access when I switch to that.
     
  13. pcm2a
    Offline

    pcm2a Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same for me. I don't see a 3g or anything beside my signal bar with the CDMA auto.
     
  14. thesandman51
    Offline

    thesandman51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also not getting any 3g when the 4g loses it's signal, so I think I need to get it switched out.
     
  15. bdonical
    Offline

    bdonical New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. I can make calls but can't do email, internet, etc.
     
Search tags for this page
enable 4g on thunderbolt
,
how to enable 4g on htc thunderbolt
,
how to switch from 4g to 3g on htc thunderbolt
,
how to switch thunderbolt to 3g
,
how to turn on 4g on htc thunderbolt
,

how to turn on 4g on thunderbolt

,
htc thunderbolt switching from 3g to 4g
,
thunderbolt turn on 4g
,
turn 4g on thunderbolt
,
turn on 4g htc thunderbolt