how to root 4.5.621/622 for Droid 2 a955 & Droid R2D2 a957

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by themib, Jul 15, 2012.

  1. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    ezSBF and Root for D2 2.3.4/4.5.621

    updated many times see change log


    [ROOT] Framaroot, a one-click .apk to root
    I have verified it works with these Motorola devices running android 2.3.4
    Droid 2 (a955), Droid 2 Global (a956), R2D2 (a957), & Droid X (MB810)

    just download, allow unknown sources, install, open, select top root method (Gimli), reboot phone, done, no pc needed





    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    created by phifc modified by bhigham

    3 options mirror links posted Magic MD5 Root 2.3.4 for D2, R2D2, D2G, DX and 2.3.5 for DX2 - Google Docs
    Multi-Device Root (54mb)
    Droid2_621_SBF-and-RootCD.iso (213mb)
    Droid2_R2D2_A957_2.3.4_SBF_and-or_RootCD.iso (250mb


    How this works
    what is ezSBF?
    original [TOOL] ezSBF (not for 2.3.4)


    select D2 for multi device root cd or /select root for the Droid2_621_SBF-and-Root CD
    don't use numbers on right side of you keyboard, just use the ones above qwerty

    turn phone on, connect to pc with usb cable

    on phone check usb debugging (settings/apps/development)
    on phone select charge only usb mode

    on pc press continue
    program will use adb to push
    Code:
    data/local.prop /data/preinstall_md5/magic.md5
    
    manually reboot phone to bootloader
    program will flash repacked sbf (less than 50mb)
    program will reboot twice, very important (reboot just replaces the local.prop, but the old local.prop is still in memory, till second reboot)
    adb pushes su,superuser, and busybox
    program will reboot to recovery,
    manually press both volume buttons when you see !, triangle, & android andy
    manually select wipe cache
    manually select reboot
    rooted

    error info
    when running program you may see these errors
    rm failed for /data/preinstall_md5/magic.md5 no such file or directory
    no root.img.gz no such file or directory
    rm failed for /data/preinstall_md5/magic.md5 read only file system


    that is fine, it will still work



    if you plan on creating nandroid backups or flashing roms read
    [HOW TO] Install/Use Droid 2 Bootstrap

    CM7
    droid2-cm7-gb-20120611-spitemare-.621.zip(with 601 kernel check removed)
    100mb md5: F483935C9F493B26BB2008EA9223D108





    Older Methods see instruction by phifc below
    windows Batch file (uses rsd lite)
    Linux batch file (adb and sbf_flash)
    Linux manual (adb and sbf_flash)

    from original thread @ New root method for stock 2.3.4 (621/622) found (Droid2, R2D2) - Droid 2 / R2D2 / Milestone 2 / Droid 2 Global - RootzWiki
    for basic SBF and RSD lite info read The DROID Wiki

    use pc, links are baked into text just click on name of file
    moto drivers USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola Mobility, Inc. USA
    abd in command prompt start/search cmd.exe
    same version, rooting alone doesn't change that, rooting just gives you access to change system files/settings



    My Links
    Magic MD5 Root 2.3.4 for D2, R2D2, D2G, DX and 2.3.5 for DX2 - Google Docs

    sd_shadow's [Collection] of Links: FAQs, Guides, Rooting, SBFs, ROMs... - Google Docs


    Changelog
    edit: added multi slitaz img and FAQ
    30 aug 2012 add more detailed instructions for muti device cd
    02 Oct 2012 added mac info
    10 Oct 2012 added error info
    26 Oct 2012 added mirror
    18 Nov 2012 added MD5 & SHA-1 Checksum Utility and R2D2 ezSBF link
    02 Dec 2012 changed download links
    09 Dec 2012 major rewrite
    26 April 2013 added Framaroot
    27 april 2013 added framaroot video
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013
  2. Ojelola

    Ojelola New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. jwagman1

    jwagman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    RSD gives this error

    Failed flashing process. Interface BP: Checksum error in the RAM Downloader for Flash Bootloader. File: 0x13AD (0x702C)

    any ideas?????
     
  4. Scubamike

    Scubamike Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm dealing with this error too. I'll post if I find a solution.
     
  5. Scubamike

    Scubamike Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, Checksum error yada yada yada is ignorable...

    Ok. I'm rooted. Error and all. From what I've read, because this is a modified .sbf the checksums fail. Forget about it and "run what you brung!" When it fails, wait for the phone to reboot from RSD. If it doesn't, hit "Show Device". Eventually, it will either say on the phone "Update Complete" or be at the bootloader screen. If it ends up at the boot loader screen, hit the power button to shut it off and turn it back on again. If it is still in the boot loader mode, shut it off with the power button, unplug the USB cable until you see the normal boot up "M". Then plug it back in and let the root process complete. Golden. If you do a batt pull while it is says "Updating SW" it will brick and say "Corrupted Code". Who cares!?! Just SBF, and you're still golden.





     
  6. Ojelola

    Ojelola New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    System Version 4.5.629 ?

    Okay, that's all good. My question still remains:

    Does this stuff work properly on the Droid 2 Global (A956) with System Version 4.5.629 ?


     
  7. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    why don't try and let us know
     
  8. Scubamike

    Scubamike Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
  10. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +85
    Yeah, I do believe in the Rootz thread one member used this on the Global, the bat file along with the Global SBF, and was successful.
     
  11. Scubamike

    Scubamike Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take note, "global .sbf", and you won't get root from the unmodified global .sbf. The .bat file doesn't hold the magic. It has to be a patched .sbf that includes the exploit. Maybe you could use the modified .629 found in one of the afore mentioned links with this method, but why combine one developer's method with another's.
     
  12. MissionImprobable

    MissionImprobable Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +85
    From Rootz:
    New root method for stock 2.3.4 (621/622) found (Droid2, R2D2) - Droid 2 / R2D2 / Milestone 2 / Droid 2 Global - RootzWiki - Page 8
    [quote name='Morlok8k' timestamp='1342762312' post='828691']
    Droid 2 Global:

    Note: My D2G is already rooted, running .629, and has the TBH unbandlock installed, as per this page. I temp unrooted, and uninstalled the updates to my superuser program. (My phone then had 3.07 superuser package, and no su binary.)


    I downloaded the D2G .629 sbf: http://sbf.droid-dev...rizon-US.sbf.gz
    and extracted it.


    I downloaded a different version number of Superuser (3.1.3) than i already had my phone. (I also temp-unrooted it, and uninstalled the superuser .apk updates so i had an older version than what i would be installing today.)


    I followed the Linux (Long path) instructions...
    the only thing i changed was step 2:

    2) Unpack the custom preinstall file, then reboot your phone into flash mode by holding the up arrow on the keypad. Then send the custom SBF file with sbf_flash:

    sbf_flash -r --preinstall preinstall.img 1FF-p3_droid2we_cdma_droid2we-user-2.3.4-4.5.1_57_D2GA-59-120117-test-keys-signed-Verizon-US.sbf

    ...

    After completing all the steps:

    it worked! I had the latest su binary and .apk installed. (and because i used sbf_flash instead of RSDlite, i again kept my "N_01.48.05R" baseband - my TBH unbandlocked radio)

    so there you have it. verified on droid 2 global. (someone else might want to try it on a fully unrooted phone... but it should work.)


    Edit: sometimes when booting it freezes at the Red M. I just do a battery pull, and restart it and it works. is this because it is doing the hack each time it boots? if so, how can i disable the hack now that i have root installed?
    [/quote]

    Complete on the Global using the Global SBF.
     
  13. Ojelola

    Ojelola New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. bhigham

    bhigham New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A simpler method is available now.

    I put together a CD to a simpler method, doesn't require bricking the phone and multiple flashes. It is the method MissionImprobable referenced, but packaged for the D2G, and shouldn't require a Data wipe, (though there is always the possibility of mishap)
    None of tools are mine, I just repackaged them to be more user friendly.
    They are at
    Droid 2 Global root CD for .629 (not necessary to brick phone) - Droid 2 / R2D2 / Milestone 2 / Droid 2 Global - RootzWiki
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  15. ldog70

    ldog70 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid 2 running A955 lockdown software

    I am dump when it comes to this rooting stuff. I have never done it. I have a droid 2 running 4.5.621.A955. I have some questions.

    First, where do i download all these tools like motorola drivers and RSDlite? Do i put them on my phone or my PC?
    Second, Where do i get this RootDroid2file? Where do i put it?
    Third, Where do i enter this adb comman?
    Fourth, If i am lucky enough to figure this thing out(which i doubt) what next? What version of software will be on my droid 2 now?

    I know nothing about ROM's and all that. Will i be able to still use my phone like normal once i have finished this process? Please help. I need somebody willing to walk me through this process literally STEP BY STEP!!!!!

    Thanks.
     
Search tags for this page
4.5.621.a955 root
,
4.5.621 root droid 2
,
a955 root
,
droid 2 4.5.621 root
,
how to permanently root a momorola a955
,
motorola droid 2 a955 unlock
,
root a955
,

root droid 2 4.5.621

,
root droid 2 a955
,
root for droid 2 4.5.621