How to root Droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. Jedidr0id

    Jedidr0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm must be losing my computer touch, but I tried and I'm really lost. I can't get past this step:

    rocess:
    - Open command prompt
    - cd c:/wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is
    - adb devices (to verify the connection)
    - cd c:/Droid2Root

    When I type adb my cmd prompt says the command is not recognized. I must doing something wrong. I have downloaded the sdk tool and extracted, I already have the motorola drives and I got the droid2root extracted. I really need a simpler step by step walkthrough.
     
  2. dunefreak91910

    dunefreak91910 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    @Jedidroid - I think you are having the same problem I did following the instructions. I stayed in the folder of my adb and added to the push. Example - When you followed cd c:/Droid2Root I skipped that step and then changed the next line to adb push c:/Droid2Root/Superuser.apk and so on for the pushes.
     
  3. imtheconvict

    imtheconvict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i just did this if i pick the app it doesnt open up asking your superuser requests and i cannot choose uninstall on the bloatware apps however i downloaded a file manger and i can edit root files any one have any ideas?
     
  4. gonnadie4thegov

    gonnadie4thegov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds like the problem i had

    What Is ADB And How To Install It? [Android]

    go there and follow the steps to install adb into the path in the enironment variables


    root only allows your to delete the bloatware if you go into the system files and delete or rename the apk files.

    and only apps that require root will ask for superuser requests, not all apps.
     
  5. imtheconvict

    imtheconvict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I c what you mean thanks
     
  6. marsha12151

    marsha12151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I do the 'adb devices' step, it returns "list of devices attached" and shows nothing connected. Seems I am missing something.

    Help?

    EDIT: SB Debugging enabled and PC Mode selected on connection
     
  7. imtheconvict

    imtheconvict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check ur device manager make sure the drivers are all installed correctly I couldn't get them to install. I changed my phone to data mode or whatever its called and in windows poped up with a virtual cd drive I installed the moto drivers in there and it worked
     
  8. Jedidr0id

    Jedidr0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  9. Jedidr0id

    Jedidr0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is where I am stuck at, can anyone help out? Many thanks.

    C:\>cd\

    C:\>cd android-sdk\tools

    C:\android-sdk\tools>adb devices
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    List of devices attached
    xxxxxxxxxxxx device


    C:\android-sdk\tools>cd c:\droid2root

    c:\Droid2Root>adb push Superuser.apk /sdcard/Superuser.apk
    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    c:\Droid2Root>
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  10. gonnadie4thegov

    gonnadie4thegov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you are trying to install the right drivers, 32 bit wont work on 64 bit windows and vice versa

    Yes you need to run the setup file then let it download the updates and archives cause that's how it communicates with android. If you notice in the list there is each version number of android.
     
  11. Jedidr0id

    Jedidr0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I got the adb path working. I'm stuck at adb shell, I got the $ instead of the prompt #.
     
  12. Jedidr0id

    Jedidr0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I finally finished all the steps. How do I know if its root or not? I clicked the superuser app and all I get a a blank screen. I never got the superuser accept screen.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
Search tags for this page
download droid2root.rar
,
droid 2 root.rar
,
droid 2 root.rar download
,
droid2root download
,
droid2root free download
,
droid2root rar
,
droid2root rar how to
,
droid2root.rar download free
,
how to jailbreak droid 2 by verizon
,

how to root droid 2