How to root Droid 2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,609
    Likes Received:
    5,576
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,176
    Add me to the droid 2 rooted club :icon_ banana:
     
  2. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,609
    Likes Received:
    5,576
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,176
  3. youngti

    youngti Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that we have Root!

    Has anybody tried a new boot animation?

    Wait, just tried it and worked with no issues.
     
    #51 youngti, Aug 31, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  4. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    have they already made a stock backup file for it? i wanna do it but not until i know theres a way back to stock
     
  5. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone please walk me through this? I've never had enough guts to do ADB stuff and I quickly found out why. I am getting pretty pissed at Moto and VZ for repeatedly making it harder to do what we want with our phones.
     
  6. bmaxxm4

    bmaxxm4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can somebody PLEASE help me out? i have been trying forever to setup the sdk and everytime i get the same error... WARNING!: Java not found in your path. checking it it's installed in C/:program Files (x86)Java instead... etc... i have tried every video, blog, etc, none of it works. all i need to do is set up the sdk. i am running windows 7 x64
     
    #54 bmaxxm4, Sep 14, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2010
  7. MechaDoozer

    MechaDoozer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Assuming you just want to root....you don't need to setup or install the SDK. You need to download SDK zip file but you really only need the one folder inside called "tools". All I did was extract that folder to my C drive, so it shows up as C:\tools

    Inside this folder is the adb program. open your command prompt and navigate to that directory. now type 'adb devices' to get started.
     
  8. komputerfreek

    komputerfreek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happens if I brick my phone by doing this incorrectly? Is there a fool proof way to recover to factory settings? I have no problem rooting as long as I can fix it myself if I mess up. Thanks.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  9. bmaxxm4

    bmaxxm4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay, i get to this step every time - ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin and then it says cannot find adb: No such file or directory

    and then it never gets to this part..

    - let the process run until it returns you to c:/Droid2Root
    what do i do???
     
  10. efexay

    efexay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    after I change drives to :

    C:\Users\*Uzer*\Downloads\android-sdk_r07-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools\Droid2Root

    and type "- adb push Superuser.apk /sdcard/Superuser.apk" I get the following:

    "'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

    any ideas?
     
  11. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,609
    Likes Received:
    5,576
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +6,176
  12. zanzeroth

    zanzeroth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    damn verizon updated software now i cant get root access. i can re do all the steps but as soon as i cycle power on my phone i get the $ sign when i log into the shell. it seems i still have root access but the programs wont work correctly. any ideas on how to proceed
     
Search tags for this page
download droid2root.rar
,
droid 2 root.rar
,
droid 2 root.rar download
,
droid2root
,
droid2root download
,
droid2root free download
,
droid2root rar
,
droid2root rar download
,
how to jailbreak droid 2 by verizon
,

how to root droid 2