Have an Issue, Stock Phone, None Rooted (not hacked) Help Is Here !!

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by JimMariner, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trshb

    trshb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    switched from forwarding to POP per your suggestion. same result though on the droid. i cannot choose which gmail account that i want to reply from even though i can do this on the desktop version of gmail... i'm thinking that it's impossible with 2 gmails on the dx.
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,688
    Likes Received:
    7,336
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,690
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    You're using the Gmail app and not the Email app, right? I have gmail on the computer setup to get my aol mail and when I get an email on my phone that you've commented on this thread, when I click reply, I can select either my gmail account or my aol account from that list.

    Maybe it doesn't work that way with 2 gmail accounts, but I would think it should. Did you have to verify that you had access to the second account, or just put in your password and username? Been so long since I setup gmail for pop...

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  3. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,436
    Likes Received:
    3,876
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,338
    Lets say your Gmail accounts are named Gmail1 & Gmail2. You have 2 forwarding to 1. When a Gmail from 2 forwards to your phones Gmail 1 there should be a label called Gmail 2 at the top of the Gmail.
    When you set up forwarding on your desktop an option which account replies are labeled. Make sure that on your desktop you have it so when you reply to Gmail2s from Gmail1 it Gmail2 is the reply address. If so when you reply from your phone to Gmail2 that forwarded to Gmail1 it SHOULD use Gmail2 as the reply address.
    I've got 2 Gmail accounts (I don't use the one my phone is linked to for anything but phone stuff) and a Verizon. My Verizon forwards to one of my Gmail accounts and when I reply, on the phone, to a Verizon mail from Gmail it uses the Verizon address. When I set up my second Gmail I initially had the first Gmail forward to it as well, using my phones Gmail as the reply address. I did away with that because I was getting duplicates of everything and it got annoying.
    Oh yeah, they said on the site give it up to a day for the settings to take effect.
    Hope that helps

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved.
     
  4. trshb

    trshb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup, i have that set on the gmail desktop, but it doesn't work on the phone. it's only using gmail 1's address. does not give me the option to switch. on desktop, it's automatically does like your example, but doesn't do it on droid x.
     
  5. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,436
    Likes Received:
    3,876
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,338
    Weird. Sorry it isn't working.

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved.
     
  6. trshb

    trshb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay, after much research, i have fixed it! apparently, google only allowed this capability on the gmail app in december. i bought my droid x 2 weeks ago, but just checked the version of my gmail and found out that i need to install the update. works as it should now. i just wish i had received some notice about gmail having an update to install like i do with my other apps.
     
  7. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,436
    Likes Received:
    3,876
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,338
    I have found the update notification to be flaky at best. The only time I ever get one is when I install a new app .
    I check "my apps" every few days and just scroll down the list.
    Glad it's working right now.
    Edit ;Just for kicks I just went and checked and ,sure enough,4 apps had updates. I have notification set to on fwiw.
    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved.
     
  8. B.Wallace85

    B.Wallace85 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was rooted but I unrooted recently and am looking to get my DX back to factory, out of the box settings. Suggestions?
     
  9. ddhockey

    ddhockey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will start out with a apology in advance if this is not the proper thread.

    have a non-rooted droid x - updated with current update over the past couple weeks - running version 4.5.605 now - and i can't move any of my app icons to any of my home screens - you can delete the ones that are there - but you can't get them back onto the home screen once you do. case in point - my camera icon - in trying to figure this out i "trashed" the icon - the app is in my folder but when i click and hold "add to home" it doesn't add it - i don't believe my home screen is locked.. but ... ?? any advice is welcome and thank you!

    i did look around prior to posting here - sorry once more if this is not in the right spot

    d
     
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,688
    Likes Received:
    7,336
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,690
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Are you familiar with the sbf method?

    Sent from my Bionic
     
  11. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,688
    Likes Received:
    7,336
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,690
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I'm assuming you have empty space available on your homescreen? Does a message pop up at all, or you click to add the icon to home and nothing happens at all?

    Have you tried restarting the phone?

    Sent from my Bionic
     
  12. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Never use stock launcher. ADW, free from market, requires reasonable privileges, has no lag, and more features. Don't look back.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

android system 0.00b

,
android system reading 0.00b
,
android system says 0.00b what does it mean
,
how to bypass htc evo screen lock
,
what does it mean when android system reads 0.00 b