Google Voice Now Handles Incoming Number Ports

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    1,324
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    Google officially released incoming number portability for Google Voice. If this is a feature you have sorely missed for the past few years, you may now jump for joy if you so wish. Here are some great instructions from BGR,
    Please note that it costs $20 bucks to port your number. Also, feel free to share in the forums how this will greatly enrich your life, or generally just be pretty useful.

    Source: BGR
  2. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    What is the major benefits of porting? Reason I ask is I only use GV for free texting.
  3. djsiva
    Offline

    djsiva Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    The option isn't there for me. Maybe they're rolling it out in waves.

    Nate
  4. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,837
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I wonder what would happen if you port your number to Google and then change cell providers. I'd guess you'd have to pay to port that number or risk losing it.

    Could be a nice feature as it solves the problem of getting people to forget your old cell number and use the Google number for texts.

    I'd be a little leary. Google will be giving free VoIP again this year but all indications are they plan to charge for that service eventually, and I suspect that may include GV. But maybe the customer backlash will be too big for that to happen. Charging for texts is the biggest rip-off going in mobile.
  5. a44kaliburll
    Offline

    a44kaliburll New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    This I would like to know as well.
  6. bertholemew
    Offline

    bertholemew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If they could get your outbound Caller ID to match your Google Voice number w/o having to dial though your GV number first then it would be great. Not sure if they can, may be up to carriers. Should be up to the customer as long as they can prove they 'own' the number.
  7. PressureDrop
    Offline

    PressureDrop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what they need to offer is a menu option when clicking on a # to "call with Google Voice". Instead of having to do it all the time, or ask you on every #! I only use GV infrequently so it is a PITA the way it is now. On my old BlackBerry GV app it would let you enter a # and call from GV, but all other calls were "normal" (through the phone). I like that it is a little more built in on droids, but it should still be an option - not a requirement!
  8. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well for one thing, if you still have a land line phone you can port that number over to google voice and people calling your now disconnected land line number will still ring your cell phone. I've been looking forward to this as i've had the same home number for 20 years. Now I can dump my second line for those people who never learn to call the cell.
  9. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well Bah, my number cannot be ported yet.
  10. supremekizzle
    Offline

    supremekizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think Google should become their own carrier. Google Wireless? Anyone?
  11. porkbrains
    Offline

    porkbrains New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    GV has a settings widget that allows you to toggle through the various options.. i.e. use GV to make all calls, only use GV for international #s, never use for calls, ask everytime

    I was able to secure ***-SNUGGLE and gf got ***-BUTTFLU.. Picking #s is almost as good as porting them, except you get a weird area code.

    I started with GV in order to drop my text package, but now make almost all calls with it just so I don't have to demand texts from one and voice from the other.. I've had few problems with the calling side and there are a lot of awesome options such as pressing 4 and recording your conversation onto the GV server. You can also do custom outgoing voicemail messages for groups or individuals. I <3 it very much.
  12. alanbk
    Offline

    alanbk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It clearly states that Land Line numbers can't be ported yet. This is what I've been waiting for. Sure enough I checked and my land line number can not,but my cell number can. Does anyone know if Google plans to offer Land Line Porting?
  13. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I'd like this. I've had my mobile number since 2003 and I don't want to lose it. That said, I'd love to have the option of routing my number to various different devices. For example, with GV I could make it such that when I visit my parents' (where I don't get cell phone reception because they live out in the sticks), I can just route it so my phone calls go to their house phone. Or if I don't answer after 2 rings, it then starts to ring on their house phone. Or maybe I would make it such that it rang both on my cell phone and my home landline at the same time and first to answer gets the call. All of these things can be done with GV, all without me changing my ph# that I've had for 8 years.
  14. bazar6
    Offline

    bazar6 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    I like that idea, cuz I have the same issue. I already have a custom GV number, use it for my VM, alternate texts, and phone widget on my site. But porting it this way would be cool.

    However, I'll wait to port my number through them for the time being. Some things I don't like being the guinea pig of lol.
  15. aldeghij
    Offline

    aldeghij New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    If I port my cell number through here, does my original google voice number stay in effect? I use that number as my main business number, so it'd suck if I ported my cell number and my google voice number went away....
  16. bazar6
    Offline

    bazar6 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    It looks as if you will lose your GV number if you port your carrier number.

    I'm sticking with two separate numbers for the time being.
  17. qoncept
    Offline

    qoncept New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    What's up with "Your mobile phone service plan will be terminated when you port your number to Google Voice and your carrier may charge you an early termination fee." ?

    Why? What does Verizon care if I transfer my number but keep my service?
  18. Big Ry
    Offline

    Big Ry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    People talk about using GV txt so they don't have to pay for a txt package...I thought your carrier would still charge you anyway?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  19. frostthejack
    Offline

    frostthejack New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because by doing that you terminate your contract.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  20. bertholemew
    Offline

    bertholemew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read they are cosidering this. They may lease cell tower rights from one of the smaller companies to get started. I wrotw on another forum that if they do this they should offer only data packages and all calls could be VOIP.
Search tags for this page

android speak incoming number