Google Voice Now Handles Incoming Number Ports

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,250
    Likes Received:
    2,070
    Trophy Points:
    378
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +2,142
    [​IMG]

    Google officially released incoming number portability for Google Voice. If this is a feature you have sorely missed for the past few years, you may now jump for joy if you so wish. Here are some great instructions from BGR,
    Please note that it costs $20 bucks to port your number. Also, feel free to share in the forums how this will greatly enrich your life, or generally just be pretty useful.

    Source: BGR
     
  2. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    What is the major benefits of porting? Reason I ask is I only use GV for free texting.
     
  3. djsiva

    djsiva Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +33
    The option isn't there for me. Maybe they're rolling it out in waves.

    Nate
     
  4. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +374
    I wonder what would happen if you port your number to Google and then change cell providers. I'd guess you'd have to pay to port that number or risk losing it.

    Could be a nice feature as it solves the problem of getting people to forget your old cell number and use the Google number for texts.

    I'd be a little leary. Google will be giving free VoIP again this year but all indications are they plan to charge for that service eventually, and I suspect that may include GV. But maybe the customer backlash will be too big for that to happen. Charging for texts is the biggest rip-off going in mobile.
     
  5. a44kaliburll

    a44kaliburll Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    This I would like to know as well.
     
  6. bertholemew

    bertholemew New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If they could get your outbound Caller ID to match your Google Voice number w/o having to dial though your GV number first then it would be great. Not sure if they can, may be up to carriers. Should be up to the customer as long as they can prove they 'own' the number.
     
  7. PressureDrop

    PressureDrop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what they need to offer is a menu option when clicking on a # to "call with Google Voice". Instead of having to do it all the time, or ask you on every #! I only use GV infrequently so it is a PITA the way it is now. On my old BlackBerry GV app it would let you enter a # and call from GV, but all other calls were "normal" (through the phone). I like that it is a little more built in on droids, but it should still be an option - not a requirement!
     
  8. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well for one thing, if you still have a land line phone you can port that number over to google voice and people calling your now disconnected land line number will still ring your cell phone. I've been looking forward to this as i've had the same home number for 20 years. Now I can dump my second line for those people who never learn to call the cell.
     
  9. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well Bah, my number cannot be ported yet.
     
  10. supremekizzle

    supremekizzle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think Google should become their own carrier. Google Wireless? Anyone?
     
  11. porkbrains

    porkbrains Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    GV has a settings widget that allows you to toggle through the various options.. i.e. use GV to make all calls, only use GV for international #s, never use for calls, ask everytime

    I was able to secure ***-SNUGGLE and gf got ***-BUTTFLU.. Picking #s is almost as good as porting them, except you get a weird area code.

    I started with GV in order to drop my text package, but now make almost all calls with it just so I don't have to demand texts from one and voice from the other.. I've had few problems with the calling side and there are a lot of awesome options such as pressing 4 and recording your conversation onto the GV server. You can also do custom outgoing voicemail messages for groups or individuals. I <3 it very much.
     
  12. alanbk

    alanbk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It clearly states that Land Line numbers can't be ported yet. This is what I've been waiting for. Sure enough I checked and my land line number can not,but my cell number can. Does anyone know if Google plans to offer Land Line Porting?
     
  13. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like this. I've had my mobile number since 2003 and I don't want to lose it. That said, I'd love to have the option of routing my number to various different devices. For example, with GV I could make it such that when I visit my parents' (where I don't get cell phone reception because they live out in the sticks), I can just route it so my phone calls go to their house phone. Or if I don't answer after 2 rings, it then starts to ring on their house phone. Or maybe I would make it such that it rang both on my cell phone and my home landline at the same time and first to answer gets the call. All of these things can be done with GV, all without me changing my ph# that I've had for 8 years.
     
  14. bazar6

    bazar6 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +11
    I like that idea, cuz I have the same issue. I already have a custom GV number, use it for my VM, alternate texts, and phone widget on my site. But porting it this way would be cool.

    However, I'll wait to port my number through them for the time being. Some things I don't like being the guinea pig of lol.
     
  15. aldeghij

    aldeghij Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I port my cell number through here, does my original google voice number stay in effect? I use that number as my main business number, so it'd suck if I ported my cell number and my google voice number went away....
     
Search tags for this page

android speak incoming number