Port your Number to Google Voice -

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by DF Smod, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    It seems the ability to port your current mobile number into Google Voice is slowly but surely being implemented, they will be charging a one time fee of $20.00 - Let us know if this option pop's up in your Google Voice Account - Also be on the lookout for Google Voice for the iPhone

    [​IMG]





    Original Source - phandroid
     
  2. chrisb817

    chrisb817 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool can't wait until I can port my home phone. Bye bye att

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Home phone? Been without one since the late 90's....
     
  4. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    What would be the benefits of this? Wouldn't that be the same as cancelling your verizon account?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yeah we got rid of land line a few years back but we did get Vonage which was much cheaper. Fact was however we just didn't use Vonage and that was another waste of money so we got rid of that a few months back. Now it's simply our Droids, one number for the wife one for me.

    I use only the 450 minute plan. Now when I'm at home I use Gmail's phone for outgoing calls.
     
  6. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    i dont get how this works...i thought GV wasn't VOIP? if you don't have a phone to forward your number to, how does it work?
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    I beleive you access it via your PC.
     
  8. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    oh i see...that kinda ruins the convenience of a mobile phone haha...wonder how many people would actually do this...
     
  9. chrisb817

    chrisb817 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm working on getting rid of the home phone . The alarm has me trap right now. Hoping when my alarm contact is over I can port my home number.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    My adt alarm has a cell

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good for you. I still use one. The alarm system requires one or a very expensive wireless add-on and monthly fees. Additionally, with the hurricanes we get a land line is a must for outages.

    It's just for porting the number. The ability to port doesn't remove the requirement for at least one phone to forward to.
     
  12. Gritwater

    Gritwater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    wait... so let me get this straight.... porting my verizon number to GV... i can already get my verizon voicemail to my google voicemail where I can read it. The only benifit I can see is free textmessaging then.

    So can I port my one line I have to GV and be ok with Verizon
     
  13. jcowgar

    jcowgar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hum, I just signed up with Verizon beginning part of this month and ported my AT&T landline number without issue. 3 days after starting the port my cell updated from its temporary number to my old home phone number. Works like a charm.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  14. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    Ah ok...I guess that's useful...but I would think people had landlines for a reason.
     
Search tags for this page

port number to google voice without ending contract