1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Port your Number to Google Voice -

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by DF Smod, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It seems the ability to port your current mobile number into Google Voice is slowly but surely being implemented, they will be charging a one time fee of $20.00 - Let us know if this option pop's up in your Google Voice Account - Also be on the lookout for Google Voice for the iPhone

    [​IMG]





    Original Source - phandroid
  2. chrisb817
    Offline

    chrisb817 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool can't wait until I can port my home phone. Bye bye att

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home phone? Been without one since the late 90's....
  4. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    What would be the benefits of this? Wouldn't that be the same as cancelling your verizon account?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Yeah we got rid of land line a few years back but we did get Vonage which was much cheaper. Fact was however we just didn't use Vonage and that was another waste of money so we got rid of that a few months back. Now it's simply our Droids, one number for the wife one for me.

    I use only the 450 minute plan. Now when I'm at home I use Gmail's phone for outgoing calls.
  6. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont get how this works...i thought GV wasn't VOIP? if you don't have a phone to forward your number to, how does it work?
  7. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I beleive you access it via your PC.
  8. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh i see...that kinda ruins the convenience of a mobile phone haha...wonder how many people would actually do this...
  9. chrisb817
    Offline

    chrisb817 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm working on getting rid of the home phone . The alarm has me trap right now. Hoping when my alarm contact is over I can port my home number.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My adt alarm has a cell

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  11. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good for you. I still use one. The alarm system requires one or a very expensive wireless add-on and monthly fees. Additionally, with the hurricanes we get a land line is a must for outages.

    It's just for porting the number. The ability to port doesn't remove the requirement for at least one phone to forward to.
  12. Gritwater
    Offline

    Gritwater New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait... so let me get this straight.... porting my verizon number to GV... i can already get my verizon voicemail to my google voicemail where I can read it. The only benifit I can see is free textmessaging then.

    So can I port my one line I have to GV and be ok with Verizon
  13. jcowgar
    Offline

    jcowgar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hum, I just signed up with Verizon beginning part of this month and ported my AT&T landline number without issue. 3 days after starting the port my cell updated from its temporary number to my old home phone number. Works like a charm.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  14. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah ok...I guess that's useful...but I would think people had landlines for a reason.
Search tags for this page

port number to google voice without ending contract