Going from a 3g phone to a 4g phone

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by searayman, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. searayman

    searayman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am planning on buying the razzr on ebay to replace my broken droidx. If I purchase a 4g razzr will it work just fine on my contract? Will i need to change anything when I buy it or can I just activate it like any other 3g phone and have no worries?
     
  2. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Your razr will work just fine on your contract. It makes no difference whether your phone is 3g or 4g...just make sure your razr has a sim card before you buy. If it doesn't you can always go to Verizon and get a sim card. There are two big differences you're going to notice with 4g...One, it is really fast...you're going to love the speed and 2, the down side of the speed, it uses quite a bit more battery than 3g, but nothing that a little battery management won't manage.
     
  3. searayman

    searayman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can i turn 4g off and only use 3g to save battery?
     
  4. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    Yes you can... there is an app called LTE On/Off in the market. Its free. When you open the app you will select CDMA Auto PRL... that will keep it on 3G and you can put it back on 4G any time you want. :)
     
  5. xtor

    xtor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +106
    Yes you can, by downloading lte on/off from app market, the setting you use are lte/cdma evdo, and for 3g its cdma auto prl, works great

    point of origin
     
  6. justin82

    justin82 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Ratings:
    +216
    you might call VZW first i don't think you can update 3g to 4g with doing a share everything now, could be wrong but i dont think i am
     
  7. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Very good point. I forgot Verizon is in the process of changing their plans. Yeah, call Verizon.
     
  8. joshxdroid

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +56
    I just put a razr on my third line which was a dumb phone line on july 3rd. knowing i was going to be doing that, i added a data pack to that line 2 days before the "share your income with vzw" plans went into effect. I had no problem putting a 4g phone on that line
     
  9. steeletown

    steeletown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    It will not affect your plan. As
    Long as you do not buy a phone at discount pricing your plan will not change.
     
    #9 steeletown, Jul 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012
  10. TheJester34

    TheJester34 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dunlap, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ask them before you do it. Coworker of mine bought my old Bionic to replace her LG Android phone and they moved her to a 2GB plan when she activated it. Told her it was because she moved to a 4G phone
     
  11. joshxdroid

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +56
    Go ahead and ask them, but you just have to tell them not to change you're plan. The computer automatically tried too change my plan to the 4 gigs for 2 gigs promotion. But i "nicely" made sure the agent knew i would be extremely angry if my unlimited went away
     
Search tags for this page
can you make a 3g phone 4g
,
how to change a 3g phone to 4g
,
how to change my phone from 3g to 4g
,
how to change your phone from 3g to 4g
,

how to make a 3g phone 4g

,
how to make a 3g phone into a 4g
,
how to make my 3g phone 4g
,
how to make your 3g phone 4g
,
how to make your phone 4g
,
how to switch from a 3g phone to a 4g phone