Dual Core overclocking?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by LT*, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm wondering if anyone has tried to overclock the D3 since rooting. I'm not sure it's even possible right now with dual core.
  2. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    You need a kernel that supports overclocking first.
  3. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I wasn't sure if it could even be done yet.
  4. DroidXDoes4G
    Offline

    DroidXDoes4G New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't wait!
    Does anyone have previous knowledge of how high the OMAP4330 in the Droid 3 can be overclocked?
  5. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Wont be able to flash kernels until the bootloader is unlocked, but OCing might be possible the same way it was done on the DX and D2.

    end of line...
  7. psychotic_penguin
    Offline

    psychotic_penguin Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Plenty fast now after freezing the bloat and getting V6 Supercharger running, but I'd like to see 1.2 for everyday use.
  8. aggiechase37
    Offline

    aggiechase37 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I really don't care about overclocking this phone. It's plenty fast for my liking. Would like to get the free RAM a little higher. Evo keeps about 200 free RAM usually. And that phone is fast fast fast.
  9. spruleme
    Offline

    spruleme New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Mine was plenty fast after renaming the bloat but then I tried the V6 Supercharger on Multitasking mode; and viola "bricked" boot looping phone :clap: Go me... So I wanted to drop a line back saying watch out for using V6 Supercharger Update 9 beta on the droid 3. You may find yourself with a nice paperweight. :icon_ cry:
  10. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Script for v6 is in /data so a factory reset may fix your brick

    Directly from my rooted Droid 3
  11. Jeeper_Slick
    Offline

    Jeeper_Slick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm hoping JRummy puts out another OC app. I loved the last one on my Droid 2. Using Bloat Freezer and the OC App, my Droid 2 ran consistent 2000 scores on Quadrant with the first leaked GB. Quadrant means nothing, I know, but thats a big jump from the 1500 it ran stock.
  12. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    OKAY... So. Someone should of mentioned this about the V6 supercharger.. I tried to install it but failed, because it didnt brick my phone. BUT after using one of JRummys root apps (rom toolbox aka liberty toolbox) I go to restart the phone and BAM my phone is useless. So I check out the phone bootloop fix by KrazyKrivda and join his IRC channel. In the channel topic it specifically says to stay away from the supercharger script.

    [FIX] Phone Bootlooping? - xda-developers


    Man-0-man, wonder how many people found out the hard way?

    I've spent the last 8-9 hours logged into root over ADB pushing files trying to figure out which one I f'd up. With absolutely NO luck. I informed JRummy to see if he could help me out so hopefully he replies.
  13. saintlikesniper
    Offline

    saintlikesniper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Supercharger worked for me idk why I have root but is currently on my d1 cause my D3 got stole by my teacher at school but supercharger worked good on mine

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  14. KrazyKrivda
    Offline

    KrazyKrivda Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't looked to closely at what the script does, but yeah the script is STORED in /data however when u grant it su access.. it can modify anything anywhere.. so assuming that the change causing the bootloop is IN data.. then a factory reset will be fine (if you don't mind losing data).

    HOWEVER, if the change it made is in /system.. the factory reset may reset your adb debugging option... which in turn will mean.. you will be stuck in a bootloop without the ability to access adb at all, in which case you are SOL until sbf or a way to run update.zip from recovery.
  15. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    How long does it take for an sbf to come out

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  16. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Time. There is no set time.
  17. spruleme
    Offline

    spruleme New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for that insight buckmarble, I was starring at the wipe data option saying to myself wondering if I'd boot cleanly after wiping. It did, and It was still rooted. I'm up and running and just using auto memory manager to tweak memory thresholds. After removal of the bloat i'm running at 120-140mb of free ram, looking at the graph and it seems the amount of ram used by system apps is cut in half after the bloat removal.

    Back on topic, hopefully we'll see an unlocked bootloader and some nice kernels after that. Though, right now the phone is plenty fast after cleaning up the bloatware and my startup program/services list using an app called, autostarts. I did experiment with underclocking and found that setcpu would get stuck in my custom screen off profile and wouldn't resume normal profiles. Cpu tuner worked pretty nicely but I noticed faster battery drain while using it. So I uninstalled and resumed using the moto governers. It really just seems the moto governer works better. I'm in the middle of calibrating my battery again and so far 12 hours at 50%. The first 8 were sitting idle while I was sleeping and picked it up 8 hours later with 90 percent left.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
cara overclock android dual core
,
cara overclock samsung core android
,

droid 3 overclock app

,
dual core overclock android
,
omap 4 overclock
,
omap 4430 overclock samsung
,
omap overclock
,
overclock dual core android
,
overclock omap 4
,

overclock omap 4430

,

overclocking dual core android

,

ti omap 4430 overclock