Dual Core overclocking?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by LT*, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm wondering if anyone has tried to overclock the D3 since rooting. I'm not sure it's even possible right now with dual core.
     
  2. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    You need a kernel that supports overclocking first.
     
  3. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I wasn't sure if it could even be done yet.
     
  4. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I can't wait!
    Does anyone have previous knowledge of how high the OMAP4330 in the Droid 3 can be overclocked?
     
  5. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +230
    Wont be able to flash kernels until the bootloader is unlocked, but OCing might be possible the same way it was done on the DX and D2.

    end of line...
     
  7. psychotic_penguin

    psychotic_penguin Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plenty fast now after freezing the bloat and getting V6 Supercharger running, but I'd like to see 1.2 for everyday use.
     
  8. aggiechase37

    aggiechase37 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really don't care about overclocking this phone. It's plenty fast for my liking. Would like to get the free RAM a little higher. Evo keeps about 200 free RAM usually. And that phone is fast fast fast.
     
  9. spruleme

    spruleme New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Mine was plenty fast after renaming the bloat but then I tried the V6 Supercharger on Multitasking mode; and viola "bricked" boot looping phone :clap: Go me... So I wanted to drop a line back saying watch out for using V6 Supercharger Update 9 beta on the droid 3. You may find yourself with a nice paperweight. :icon_ cry:
     
  10. buckmarble

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +65
    Script for v6 is in /data so a factory reset may fix your brick

    Directly from my rooted Droid 3
     
  11. Jeeper_Slick

    Jeeper_Slick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm hoping JRummy puts out another OC app. I loved the last one on my Droid 2. Using Bloat Freezer and the OC App, my Droid 2 ran consistent 2000 scores on Quadrant with the first leaked GB. Quadrant means nothing, I know, but thats a big jump from the 1500 it ran stock.
     
  12. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    OKAY... So. Someone should of mentioned this about the V6 supercharger.. I tried to install it but failed, because it didnt brick my phone. BUT after using one of JRummys root apps (rom toolbox aka liberty toolbox) I go to restart the phone and BAM my phone is useless. So I check out the phone bootloop fix by KrazyKrivda and join his IRC channel. In the channel topic it specifically says to stay away from the supercharger script.

    [FIX] Phone Bootlooping? - xda-developers


    Man-0-man, wonder how many people found out the hard way?

    I've spent the last 8-9 hours logged into root over ADB pushing files trying to figure out which one I f'd up. With absolutely NO luck. I informed JRummy to see if he could help me out so hopefully he replies.
     
  13. saintlikesniper

    saintlikesniper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Supercharger worked for me idk why I have root but is currently on my d1 cause my D3 got stole by my teacher at school but supercharger worked good on mine

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  14. KrazyKrivda

    KrazyKrivda Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I haven't looked to closely at what the script does, but yeah the script is STORED in /data however when u grant it su access.. it can modify anything anywhere.. so assuming that the change causing the bootloop is IN data.. then a factory reset will be fine (if you don't mind losing data).

    HOWEVER, if the change it made is in /system.. the factory reset may reset your adb debugging option... which in turn will mean.. you will be stuck in a bootloop without the ability to access adb at all, in which case you are SOL until sbf or a way to run update.zip from recovery.
     
  15. markml0528

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    How long does it take for an sbf to come out

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
cara overclock android dual core
,

droid 3 overclock app

,
dual core overclock android
,
omap 4 overclock
,
omap overclock
,
overclock dual core android
,
overclock omap 4
,

overclock omap 4430

,
overclocking dual core android
,

ti omap 4430 overclock