Bugs in ICS OTA: Faults and Fix

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by helron, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. helron
    Offline

    helron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update does NOT clear cache! Easy non software fix!

    Attention**Droid RAZR and Droid RAZR MAXX Ice Cream Sandwich updates. Users*have been*complaining about issues*with the Ice Cream Sandwich update that Motorola and Verizon pushed does not wipe the cache of both devices.

    Wiping the cache is something that is required to help keep applications and tasks stable. It’s also probably the reason many of Droid RAZR and Droid RAZR MAXX owners have been complaining about crashes and the devices seemingly taking on minds of their own.

    It’s also a requirement for rooted users when moving from ROMs.

    Here are step by step instructions on how to wipe the cache of both devices clean, a move that should return the Droid RAZR and Droid RAZR MAXX to normal.

    1)*Press and hold the Power button and turn the phone off.
    2)*When the screen turns off, press and hold Volume Down and Power.
    3)*When the white HBOOT screen appears, use the volume button to move down to “RECOVERY.”
    4)*Press the Power button to select “RECOVERY.”
    5)*When the triangle and exclamation appears, hold the Volume Up and Power button at the same time.
    6)*Using the volume button, scroll down to “Wipe cache partition” and select it.
    7)*Select “Reboot system now.”

    Thanks to : How to Fix Droid RAZR and Droid RAZR MAXX Ice Cream Sandwich Issues
  2. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    After reading comments in article, for step #2, they mention slight change in instructions to get to "recovery" ... push volume up + volume down + power buttons.

    Thanks for great advice, helron!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
  3. xtor
    Offline

    xtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Will a factory reset do the same thing?

    point of origin
  4. helron
    Offline

    helron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the best, but why, if clearing the cache works?
  5. Skullz48
    Offline

    Skullz48 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As much as I hate to ask.... What does "push volume up + volume down + power buttons" mean? I've tried pushing the up volume, then down, then holding it and then the power button but all it brings up is a screen that tells me to connect to USB (??) What am I doing wrong?
  6. jaybogg
    Offline

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I tried it and after a few tries, I got it. This was my first time in this area of the phone as I have never performed FDR or anything else in this menu. I did have to hold the power, plus and minus volume buttons a few seconds to get into the menu. Liked the animations on the menu pages!! My phone has been pretty stable stable for the most part, does take off and does weird things every week or two, but so far powering off and back on has seemed to fix any of these minor problems. Always appears to be a runaway app. I decided to try this as it seemed pretty harmless and a way to familiarize myself with the menus I've been reading about for the last few months.
  7. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,390
    Likes Received:
    640
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
  8. Skullz48
    Offline

    Skullz48 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have to keep holding the power button down, then push the volum up button for a few seconds, then the volum down button and hold it? I keep trying but all it does is turn on the phone, :cus:
  9. Skullz48
    Offline

    Skullz48 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, I finally got it. I'm a dum$%&*(ss. I was reading it as hold one then the other. Not both at the same time. Geezzzz.... Thanks for your help!!! :blink:
  10. MAzing87
    Offline

    MAzing87 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this for regular phones or rooted?
  11. helron
    Offline

    helron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will clearing cache on a leaked version cause issues or fix issues? Razr NOt rooted, but running 215 leak.
Search tags for this page

droid razr ics bug fix

,
how to remove a droid razr from hboot
,
my droid razr maxx wont cache partition after new software u
,
samsung s4 faults and bugs
,
wipe cache partition for razr ics
,
wiping the cache should help fix droid razr ics issues.