What to expect from the pending Droid 2.2 update on 7/13?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by thinkmega, Jul 2, 2010.

1. thinkmega

thinkmega New Member

Yes, I am excited. I have been tempting to root my droid, and haven't done it due to the concerns of how well I can backup/restore the existing OS, plus the unanswered question on re-activation on the rooted Droid.

Anyway, I am really looking forward to the 2.2. It would be great if it is rolling out on the 13th, merely 10 days away. I'd like to poll the experts here that what features would be included, what would be the difference from the leaked builds. Please share your insights anyway you want.

Thanks!

J.
  2. KidCuda

KidCuda New Member

I am no expert, but I wouldn't expect much different from the latest leaked build other than not being able to get away with tethering without Verizon noticing.

I just hope that the home screen speed is actually improved, because LancherPro is just embarrassing Google right now...

And I hope that you are giving that July 13th date a 2 week buffer, just basing this on the 2.1 rollout/ other 2.1 rollouts with other carriers.
  3. bishoy

bishoy New Member

Well, when i heard about the google navigation on the droid, I figured Verizon would not like that and would not let us get away with using a turn by turn navigation without paying that $10/ month so that Google didn't compete with verizon's own VZ Navigator. But, I was wrong, and lo and behold, we are navigating for free. I guess we will just find out when the time comes if Verizon will let us tether for free or not.

It will be interesting to see how Verizon reacts to that, especially after AT&T's move last month regarding the data plans.
  4. KidCuda

KidCuda New Member