What is up with the 4g phone selections at VZ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by tsitalon1, May 18, 2011.

  1. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    I believe you understand when I say "Droid" I mean all of the manufacturers that make devices under the Droid name.
     
  2. xtremecanefan

    xtremecanefan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Charges 4 buttons on the bottom of the phone (menu, home, back and search) are backlit. As far as the lag goes, a home replacement fixes it pretty well. I use ADW but LauncherPro works well to i hear. My only complaint, as well as many others is the color scheme which will hopefully be fixed soon by a a theme.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk
     
  3. jeremycnly

    jeremycnly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Until the storage cap of 4G Lte phones is raised I'm not interested, in any of them if 4G is there only selling point... 32gb isn't enough at those speeds.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Zog

    Zog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol. You must be in that top 5% of data usage we so often talk about. Hate to see your bill after the data tiers.. imo, use a torrent remote instead of native client homie.. 32gb on a phone is more than enough.
     
  5. tsitalon1

    tsitalon1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't own one, but have heard two people complain that they are not backlit. I wonder why I'm getting conflicting stories here? Are they configurable, meaning can you enable/disable backlighting for the physical buttons?

    No LED though right?

    I wouldn't like to use the NOLED app and have my screen on all night trying to let me know I have a text/email....seems counter productive to battery life.
     
  6. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    It certainly is if u use WiFi at home. I stream Pandora a lot...web...apps that connect to web etc and don't use 32gb of data a month. At least not the last time I checked.

    I can however see these amounts of data use if netflix becomes available for the thunderbolt

    ridin the lighting
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a reason why it's called bleeding edge. Look back and you'll see that the first 3G devices had the very same complaints. Fail to learn from history and...

    There are high end devices out there. None may suit specifically what you're looking for but offering different models isn't the issue.

    Satisfying forum enthusiasts who make up a tiny fraction of a percent of the overall market (commonly forgotten by forum enthusiasts) is not a viable business model. Of course the OEM's are going to spend effort on low and mid end devices. They sell better generally.

    Just use Android. Droid is specific to Verizon.

    One size does fit all and that's typically a major point for those choosing Android. If you want the iPhone experience there's always the iPhone.
     
    #19 takeshi, May 19, 2011
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  8. xtremecanefan

    xtremecanefan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see a setting for the buttons. Mine come on a few seconds after i unlock my screen if the lighting is dim enough for the sensor. It might only do it if brightness is on automatic. I will check tonight when i get home.

    As for LED, there is none. I liked it on my droid but it wasn't a deal breaker for me. The lock screen has a big notification message in it and thats enough since i usually hit the power button as i take my phone out.

    I don't use noled but may give it a try and see how badly it hurts my battery life.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk
     
  9. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    And I believe when you say Droid, you are only talking about 3 manufacturers at this time...HTC, Moto and now Samsung. Prior to the Charge, you would have been talking only about HTC and Moto. No way is the Droid namesake going to swarm the LTE phone market right now...so it is better to deal with LTE in the sense of Android, the OS... I cant help it if you cant see the folly in your original post...its fairly blatant...

    As far as a high-end *Droid* labeled phones...you have 2 sitting on the shelves right now, the HTC Thunderbolt and the Samsung Charge...dont expect anything else other than maybe the Bionic/Targa/whatever it finally gets named, to be released anytime soon for exactly the reason I originally stated...there is not enough LTE coverage at this time to justify swamping the market with LTE devices that wont sell.
     
  10. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    Your attempt to insult me for using the "Droid" name universally for the manufacturers that produce the products, is well...sad. As if I'm the only one to use the name interchangeably.

    I can tell you're an internet tough guy, so I won't continue a dialogue with your kind.
     
  11. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    I didnt try to insult you. I merely pointed out that the use of the word "Droid", in your post, was incorrect...and it was. The fact that others use it interchangeably does not negate the fact that the use of it that way is wrong. Repeatedly doing something wrong will not ever make it right...folly is what it is...and as such why I called it so in my 2nd post to you.

    Glad you think I am an internet "tough guy" based off of 2 posts I have made to you in this thread... Luckily, my "internet cred" can stand a hit or two....

    Now, when you get done pouting, pull up your big-boy pants, wipe the tears away, and try to accept a simple correction for what it was...seems I wasnt the only poster to point out that little mistake you made...:)

    BTW, good job on totally ignoring every aspect of my 2nd post that dealt specifically with what you were originally asking about...
     
  12. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    If you're under the belief that the TB or the Charge are considered "High End", then you've only reassured my first assessment; that I've made the right choice in speaking with you not being worth my time.
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge unlock code
,
forgot password for samsung fit#gsc.tab
,
pattern unlock samsung i510
,

samsung sch i510 free unlock code

,
samsung sch i510 unlock code
,
samsung sch-i510 unlock code free
,
samsung sch-i510 verizon unlock code
,

sch-i510 unlock code

,
unlock samsung sch-i510