What is this on my phone??

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by JOSHSKORN, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I haven't figured this out, but when I put my phone into my car dock and CarHome Ultra loads up, I get this icon that is kind of right in the middle of things (it's on top), I can't move it, and I just have to tap around it, which is very difficult. I tap the icon, though and it starts recording video. I tap it again, and it stops the recording.

    What is this and how can I kill it?? It's annoying me! Ughhh :angry:

    I also have Camera and Camera ICS installed on my phone. I don't think either of those two are the culprits, but I could be wrong.
     
  2. newbroot83

    newbroot83 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Pic?

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry I'll have to get back to you on that. I'll do that tomorrow. Basically it's a square shaped box that's transparent, and I've been able to move it in the past but not today when I took a trip. When recording, it beeps when the recording starts/stops and also has a green indicator line, I think when recording video. It's not as big as the CarHome Ultra squares, in fact, smaller than my fingers (not thumb).
     
  4. TheDroidURLookinFor

    TheDroidURLookinFor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    CarHome Ultra and Camera ICS are 3rd party apps. If you didn't put them on there I would suggest uninstalling them.
     
  5. YellowJacket

    YellowJacket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +35
    Sounds like a dash cam app. I just checked on my version of Car HOme Ultra and cant find a setting for it so my guess it may be a feature of CameraICS that gets enabled when its in a vehicle dock.

    David
     
  6. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Once I discovered CarHome Ultra I never went back to using the stock app. Same with Camera ICS, I just seem to like the pictures better. I wonder if there's a Camera JB. Haven't looked into it yet. Can't remember when I installed it, if it was before ICS was available for the MAXX or not, I'm guessing it was.

    Didn't see anything in Camera ICS related to a dash cam app. Wish I could post a screen shot like the first reply asked, but wouldn't you know it...the moment I post this thread, and try re-produce the problem, it goes away. Maybe I inadvertently disabled it and if that's the case, I wish I knew what I did. I was playing with the CarHome Ultra settings, but don't remember seeing anything having to do with video.
     
  7. YellowJacket

    YellowJacket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +35
    Agreed about Car Home Ultra. It is an awesome app. Much better than the stock Auto Dock app.

    David
     
  8. rosariorose9

    rosariorose9 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    +1. Amongst other advantages, it makes voice dialing by numbers SO much easier!
     
  9. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Voice dialing? Haven't gotten the hang of that. Feel free to PM me (or reply on this topic although it's unrelated) and explain how to do that and how it works. I'm intrigued.
     
  10. rosariorose9

    rosariorose9 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just tap the 'Voice Search' button on the app, then say "dial 555-555-5555". Works like a charm!
     
  11. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Whoops, I removed that. Didn't know what it was for, I just put on what I think I'd use. Guess I'll readd it. Ever tried JARVIS? I was looking at it, but that's all the further I got.
     
  12. rosariorose9

    rosariorose9 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes, I tried Jarvis, but the stock Google Search (as simplified by the Voice Search button on CarHome Ultra) is the best way I've found to dial by number in your car. Try it and I think you'll agree.
     
Search tags for this page

car home ultra dash cam