1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Verizon's Sneaky New DROID Advertising trick

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Preach2k, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    What do you guys think about this and is it happening with your phone?

    Last edited: Oct 21, 2010
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, I have a D2 and it didn't do it to me. However I also have a Mac so that may be the reason why.
  3. xeene
    Offline

    xeene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    usa
    Not happening to mine but im running 2.2 leak.

    Sent from my DROIDX
  4. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Just watched it. It never happened to me on my X.

    I'm more tweaked at the BS with CityID on the DX.
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2010
  5. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Pretty sneaky sis

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope. Droid X, 2.2 OTA, stock, XP Pro SP3. Every time I plug mine in, I get the Moto Connect icon in the system tray but that's about it.
  7. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    If anyone is having this Problem here is how to fix it...
    Disabling it is easy. Just go to the notification area on your Windows taskbar, right-click the MotoConnect icon, and set "When phone connects, launch" to "Nothing." And pray this practices ceases in the future.


    Stop that annoying VCAST popup | Android Central
  8. disot25
    Offline

    disot25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing new

    this happened to me after I installed all the drivers for the droid x on windows. If you right click on the motorola icon that appears when you connect to x to a pc (motoconnect) there is an option that says (when phone connects) and the just click on do nothnig. It has always been there since I first got my Droid X when it first came out. Hope this helps
  9. kevinkar
    Offline

    kevinkar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that you two mention that, I did indeed do that already when I first loaded up the MotoConnect software. So I guess that's why I never saw the ad!
  10. jamespg81
    Offline

    jamespg81 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was driving me nuts!! Im glad theres a fix for it :)
  11. bigdog9586
    Offline

    bigdog9586 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    find the little Blue MOto icon AFTER you plug in DX somewhere near your clock icon and right click on it and tell it not to load the program. Simple.
  12. jamespg81
    Offline

    jamespg81 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i got it... thats why i said it WAS driving me nuts :) Thanks tho