Verizon Discontinuing Its Android Data Widget; New One Coming for Shared Data Plans

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,813
    Likes Received:
    1,750
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    [​IMG]

    As you can see from the pic above, Verizon is apparently doing away with its data widget for Android phones. For those who don't have it or haven't seen it, this is a widget directly from Verizon that helps you see how much data you have used to help you avoid going over your monthly limit, if you have one. The My Verizon Data Widget, will delete itself off of your phone with its newest and next update. After yesterday, June 25th, it will no longer be supported.

    [​IMG]

    At first it may seem like some crafty way to trick customers into going over their data limits on Verizon's new Shared Data Plans; however, luckily that is not the case. Apparently, Verizon is coming out with a new/updated one very soon to replace the old one. This new one is designed to work specifically with their Shared Data Plans, and will apparently work with older plans as well.

    Source: Verizon Twitter
     
  2. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    248
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +248
    Current Phone Model:
    GNote2
    Also expect a $30 "widget upgrade fee". :p Got to keep those fat cats fat!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  3. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    I've never used it (obviously worthless when you have unlimited), but won't the ICS option work just fine?
     
  4. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +113
    It still works on my Rezound with ICS, but I just use the app, not the widget one.
     
  5. jayman350

    jayman350 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    Ratings:
    +18
    the vzw one keeps you up to date with your "official" data usage for the month. if you flash a new ICS rom the data is reset to zero. i guess the ICS one will be sufficient for most, however I'm one of those people who can't leave well enough alone (crackflasher) so the ICS one is fairly useless for me.
     
  6. nobreak1970

    nobreak1970 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on the bionic ics leak and the my Verizon application works fine.
     
  7. Cozmyk94

    Cozmyk94 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Ratings:
    +2
    From the training I've had about the data widget, which they still weren't very clear about, if you have the unlimited data package still grandfathered, it's supposed to work (which doesn't really matter lol.) Yes, they are revamping the widget to work with the Share Everything plan because now it won't be per device anymore. I do believe though that it'll work if you're on a tiered package as well. I'll have to get a confirmation on that tomorrow.
     
  8. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    I use onavo count from the market, its free.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  9. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Right.
     
  10. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    And why wouldn't Verizon just keep the current widget they have until they actually finish creating the new one. Sounds like a no brainer idea to me, but then again, we're talking about Verizon trying to soak us for as much money as they can. They are really making me mad. I have two sons on limited data plans. They (and I) rely on that widget to make sure they don't go over their data.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
     
  11. revelated

    revelated Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bothell, WA
    Ratings:
    +5
    What they NEED to do is redesign the damn widget so it looks better. You can't resize it, can't customize it, clashes horribly with Ice Cream Sandwich in particular with that red.
     
  12. mykl376

    mykl376 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have a single line with unlimited data. The My Verizon widget hasn't changed for me, but it doesn't seem to update often. I'll have to tap it to open it up, then it will update to my current data usage.
     
Search tags for this page
free data widget my verizon
,

verizon data widget

,
verizon data widget android