1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Stupid Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by beachynurse, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, in trying to learn how to use my new droid x, I can't find how to add my name to the locked home screen. When my screen times out and locks, there is a banner that says "This phone belongs to:", but I have looked all over . . . . settings wallpapers, etc and can't figure it out. I know it's stupid . . . . but it's making me nuts!!!! Thanks for ANYONE'S help!!!!! :)
  2. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't own an X(yet), but maybe look under location & security.
  3. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see no such banner on my X....:icon_evil:
  4. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not there either!!!!! UGHHHH!!!! :)
  5. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since I have been downloading apps, and what not since I got it, I think that it may have initially appeared when I downloaded the anti virus app. But I can't be positive!!!
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why do you feel the need to anti-virus?

    It's not needed....
  7. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't know . . . and was just trying to protect my phone. Should I uninstall?
  8. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I was just going to ask if you dl'd an anti-virus app, because that is why that text is on your lockscreen.
  9. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes - it's the anti virus app that looks like a yellow and white capsule.
  10. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not needed....it will make your device slow and does nothing to protect it since there has not been a virus on android.
  11. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I uninstalled it, and that banner went away. Thanks for everyone's help!!!! I was taking the same precautions that we take with our computers.
  12. wakebrdr066
    Offline

    wakebrdr066 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well Im sure someone out there will still want to know the answer so...what u do within the anti-virus app is go into

    settings-->remote management-->Lost Message

    Within here you will be able to add your name an what not
  13. Preach2k
    Online

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Why do you feel the need to anti-virus?

    It's not needed....[/quote]

    I think it is need for any phone that have a browser. My Storm 1 got a Virus that drains the Application Memory. I can not fix it at all. I did all I can do including took it to Verizon and still I can't get it to stop Draining the App memory. I am waiting to get the Droid X when all the kinks and bugs are out of it. I learned from the Storm never to get a phone when it first comes out. I will never do it again because of all the problems I had with the Storm 1 self rebooting, freezing,etc... If they have anti-Virus for I will put it on the phone. Especially if you have downloaded music on it.


    Here is a good article http://www.networkworld.com/columnists/2010/011210antonopoulos.html
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  14. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Virus? Doubt it. More likely a rouge app.....A factory reset will fix it.
  15. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, another questions. "remote management" isn't a category under my "settings". :icon_eek: I am helpless with this thing!!!!! This is what happens when you have a crackberry for 4 years!!!!!
  16. Preach2k
    Online

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Been there did that Factory reset. Still draining my Memory. Trying to hold out a month or 2 for the Droid X.
  17. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you mean remote locking and or wiping of the device?
    I so, You need Wave Secure or Mobile Defense.....
  18. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, just when the screen times out and locks. Nothing fancy
  19. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Settings>>Sound & Display is what your looking for I think.
  20. beachynurse
    Offline

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks so much for your help!!!!!
Search tags for this page
add name banner droid bionic
,
can i add my name to the droid screen if locked
,

droid x banner missing

,
how do you put a banner on a android a855?
,
how to put time and date banner on my droid x
,
my droidx used to have a banner at the top of the screen
,
setting banner on droid x