Stupid Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by beachynurse, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, in trying to learn how to use my new droid x, I can't find how to add my name to the locked home screen. When my screen times out and locks, there is a banner that says "This phone belongs to:", but I have looked all over . . . . settings wallpapers, etc and can't figure it out. I know it's stupid . . . . but it's making me nuts!!!! Thanks for ANYONE'S help!!!!! :)
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't own an X(yet), but maybe look under location & security.
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    I see no such banner on my X....:icon_evil:
     
  4. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not there either!!!!! UGHHHH!!!! :)
     
  5. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since I have been downloading apps, and what not since I got it, I think that it may have initially appeared when I downloaded the anti virus app. But I can't be positive!!!
     
  6. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Why do you feel the need to anti-virus?

    It's not needed....
     
  7. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't know . . . and was just trying to protect my phone. Should I uninstall?
     
  8. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was just going to ask if you dl'd an anti-virus app, because that is why that text is on your lockscreen.
     
  9. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - it's the anti virus app that looks like a yellow and white capsule.
     
  10. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Not needed....it will make your device slow and does nothing to protect it since there has not been a virus on android.
     
  11. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I uninstalled it, and that banner went away. Thanks for everyone's help!!!! I was taking the same precautions that we take with our computers.
     
  12. wakebrdr066

    wakebrdr066 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well Im sure someone out there will still want to know the answer so...what u do within the anti-virus app is go into

    settings-->remote management-->Lost Message

    Within here you will be able to add your name an what not
     
  13. Preach2k

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    345
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +358
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 4
    Twitter:
    DroidNCState
    Why do you feel the need to anti-virus?

    It's not needed....[/quote]

    I think it is need for any phone that have a browser. My Storm 1 got a Virus that drains the Application Memory. I can not fix it at all. I did all I can do including took it to Verizon and still I can't get it to stop Draining the App memory. I am waiting to get the Droid X when all the kinks and bugs are out of it. I learned from the Storm never to get a phone when it first comes out. I will never do it again because of all the problems I had with the Storm 1 self rebooting, freezing,etc... If they have anti-Virus for I will put it on the phone. Especially if you have downloaded music on it.


    Here is a good article http://www.networkworld.com/columnists/2010/011210antonopoulos.html
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  14. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Virus? Doubt it. More likely a rouge app.....A factory reset will fix it.
     
  15. beachynurse

    beachynurse New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, another questions. "remote management" isn't a category under my "settings". :icon_eek: I am helpless with this thing!!!!! This is what happens when you have a crackberry for 4 years!!!!!
     
Search tags for this page
add name banner droid bionic
,
can i add my name to the droid screen if locked
,

droid x banner missing

,
how do you put a banner on a android a855?
,
how to put time and date banner on my droid x
,
my droidx used to have a banner at the top of the screen
,
setting banner on droid x