I feel stupid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by PARick, May 31, 2010.

  1. PARick

    PARick Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But, when My Moto Droid is locked, the screen has a space that says "this phone belongs to....". I can't find where to put my name. I use LauncherPro, if that makes a difference. Thanks!
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Did you try pressing your menu button to see if something comes up? Perhaps something related to using your launcher?

    I'm stupid too, I can't really help but I'll bet it's right in front of you and you just don't see it.
     
  3. HarshReality

    HarshReality Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have one of those webdata backup programs installed the thing your looking for is in its settings.

    I had it.. I removed it.. and cant remember the name of it. Either way.. when you find out the application post it here so the next guy doesnt feel silly.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2010
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    I believe Screen Suite has a lockscreen like that, and you have to get to it through the app.
     
  5. PARick

    PARick Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bingo...that was it, thanks! I had to go into my antivirus program to add myself as a contact. Thanks for all your help!
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    AntiVirus? You don't need an antivirus. It's just going to slow down your Droid. Get rid of that thing, see it's causing you problems already.
     
  7. PARick

    PARick Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok Hook... but there have been numerous suggestion to have an antivirus on these phones. Given your post count I am sure you know what you are talking about, so I guess I will remove it.
     
  8. BKS

    BKS Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hook wouldn't steer you wrong. Don't feel bad, I asked the same question when I 1st joined a few weeks ago. Every experienced member said the same thing.....ditch any antivirus apps. :)
     
  9. iks

    iks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hook or Crook

    Advice has to come with a follow up. What is the reason for removing AV software? "Doesn't do any good" won't work for me. Is the Droid immune to viruses. If so it is the only OS in the world that is.

    My first response to this forum post was to look for a button that said "Report this post as inappropriate".
     
  10. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are no viruses for Android, it's Linux based.

    Your only concern is malware... which has to do with the permissions an app is given. So use common sense and pay attention to what services an app is requesting permission to.

    An anti-virus will do NOTHING to prevent an app's permissions, it's all on the end user.

    A quick search will give you the difference between a virus and malware, as they're not the same.

    An anti-virus is only going to use resources searching for something that doesn't exist... and it can't detect malware as the AV software is looking for malicious code that self replicates (virus), not checking permissions (which malware uses as it's gateway)
     
  11. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4
    Really? That was your first response? Well, we are so fortunate that you chose to wait and see if there was any other option...

    Now, for that 2nd option, see the post directly below yours...or right here under this post. What Martin has posted is about as definitive an answer anyone could ask for...

    Very nice answer...spot on!
     
  12. iks

    iks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a much better response. Thanks
     
  13. iks

    iks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW...my complaint was the unprofessional advice by hook.
     
  14. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    How so? I would have answered the same.
     
  15. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6

    Having been a forum mod for several years (not on this site), my best advice to questions is often the simplest. The nice thing about forums is you can always go back and elaborate as necessary, but if you immediately dump a pile of info in the first response, this can alienate some people.

    This original poster seemed quite content with Hookbill's reply. Had you still been confused by the information given, you could have very politely asked for additional info/sources to back this up, or done a forum search yourself since this topic has been discussed at length.


    (Edited out the term "newbies", it appears the OP has been around longer than I. LOL...)
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010
Search tags for this page

how do i put a name on the front of my phone