stuck in boot loop.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dannyboydluxe, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. dannyboydluxe
    Offline

    dannyboydluxe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Here's what I did:


    1. Rooted using the instructions on: Obtaining Root | Root Your Droid
    2. downloaded ROM Manager (free & paid) from market
    3. Launched ROM manager and installed ClockworkMod Recovery
    4. Downloaded and tried to install latest Cyanogen ROM
    5. Phone now stuck in boot loop where it show's DROID EYE then DROID TEXT, then just does that again.
    I've taken out the battery, and rebooted but it still does it. I can get into Clockwork Recovery, but don't know what to do from there>>>

    help would be sincerely appreciated.
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    You rooted and got the loader installed. Looks like something went wrong with the rom. You can get the bootloader (clockwork) to come up again.

    The rom might be corrupted, download it again

    You may have skipped a step in the install directions for the rom. I haven't installed that one but for the one I'm using I had to wipe cache and data.

    What instructions are you following for the rom, do you have a link?
  3. dannyboydluxe
    Offline

    dannyboydluxe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I just downloaded and attempted to install the ROM directly from ROM Manager. What should I do before I try to do it again? should I restore from Nandroid?
  4. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Simply wipe data/cache from the clovckwok menu and it should load right up. If you were coming from a 2.0.1 based rom it is a must. You shouldn't have to redownload, but if you don't know how to into recovery I will explain it further.
  5. dannyboydluxe
    Offline

    dannyboydluxe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    wipe date and wipe cache are 2 separate options, should I do each one individually? I do have a Nandroid Image backed up.... would restoring that be a good idea?
  6. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I havent played with rom manager yet. Will it let you do a nandroid restore? If so you can try that to get back where you were. Clockwork won't do nandroid and sprecovery won't do all roms either.

    brb, researching rom manager for a few minutes
  7. dannyboydluxe
    Offline

    dannyboydluxe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    OK, i got the phone restored, whewww my first boot loop i felt violated.. the phone is Rooted, and I have purchased the ROM Manager... what should I do now to successfully get an awesome ROM on here? Thanks for your help so far!
  8. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    yes it would...
  9. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    I've seen a lot of troubles with this, but it doesn't mean it doesnt work for everyone. I prefer manual install directions so i know what is going on, but droidmod and rom manager has its place too...especially if it works for you.

    I have been happy with SG 6.0 who's install directions are below. You can try Cyanogen again or try the steps listed below. There are other roms listed in the roms section of the forum here. All of them have folks who love them. You do need sprecovery installed to install SG 6.0.

    Let us know what you decide and feel free to just keep using this thread until you have one installed.
Search tags for this page

g2x boot loop

,
g2x stuck in bootloop
,
goo manager boot cycle
,
how do you get the lg g2 out of bootloop
,

htc magic boot loop

,
htc magic stuck in boot loop
,
lg g2 boot loop
,
lg g2 bootloop
,
lg g2x boot loop
,
lg g2x roms
,
lg gx2 boot hack
,
lg p999 boot loop