So How Screwed am I?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by dwmackay, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Greetings.

    I had Gummy ROM installed and decided to flash back to stock for a bit. I downloaded the stock rom 2.1 from Droid Fiend and put it on my SD card. I booted into recovery, mounted system, formated system, wiped cache and data, load ROM from SD and it got stuck. The little progress bar was on the bottom, but it was not moving at all. After about 10 minutes of nothing, I pulled the battery to try again...

    Seems like something along there was a mistake.

    So now, I can only boot into the Android boot loader. Clockwork will not come up for some reason. If I try to reboot, I get nothing but the lovely white M. unless I hold the X which will then let me go into standard android boot loader.

    Any advice is appreciated.

    Doug M.
     
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pretty sure your going to have to sbf.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems like I have to be able to boot and connect to the PC to SBF. Is there some way to do that from where I am now?

    Edit: Hold that. I booted and held the up key. Now I am connected to the PC. I'll try to follw the SBF directions and will let you know if I run into trouble. Thanks for the advice.

    Doug M.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2011
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll need a PC first and foremost. Then you'll need rsd lite 4.9 I believe is the up to date version. Then you'll need to download the current sbf for 2.3.2 and then you'll need to boot in to the bootloader by pulling and replacing the battery and then holding the power button and the keyboards up button simultaneously.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  5. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help.

    It seems to be loading via RSD Lite 4.9. Slowly counting up toward 100%.
    What is next? Will I then have an unrooted factory fresh Motorola phone?

    Doug M.
     
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You'll be back to stock. Your apps will still be there, including any apps you used when rooted. Factory fresh, no.
     
  7. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I finished the steps listed here.

    However, now it only boots to the white text Bootloader D2.35

    On the screen is says:

    Boatloader D2.35
    Err:A5,0,70,00,1F

    MEM_MAP Blank
    Service Req'd
    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    Connect USB
    Data Cable


    Any clue as to what I should do next?

    Edit: I am flashing both SBF files again via SBF to see if that helps.
    Edit 2: After flashing a second time, I have the same results.
    Edit 3: Thanks for any help. I will move my request over to the Rescue Squad
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2011
  8. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No response in the Rescue forum, so if you have any ideas I would welcome the help.

    Doug M.
     
  9. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Boot back into recovery and wipe your cache. Should clear it right up.
     
  10. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is my problem. The only bootloader I get is the one described above. There is no option to wipe anything.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the efforts to get me going. I am throwing in the towel and sending to Motorola for repair. Suprisingly, they said they wil fix it under the warranty.

    Doug M.
     
  12. captainoftheworld
    Offline

    captainoftheworld Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    U don't want them to send u a warranty replacement, it'll be a refurb and the hardware isn't as good as the original batch of droid 2s, learned this the hard way, you got into the bootloader, you can flash the sbf from rsd lite easily, I do it at least once a week. Trust me, refurbs are bad news, I could oc my original d2 to 1.45 stable, and this refurb reboots over 1.2
     
  13. captainoftheworld
    Offline

    captainoftheworld Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And there should not be two files to sbf with, I've tried that method and it didn't work for me.

    You want to search the forums for team black hat triple threat, I use rsdlite 4.8 and the sbf from that thread and it works flawlessy, rsdlite will recognize your phone as a 4g OMAP flash device, but that is correct
     
  14. dwmackay
    Offline

    dwmackay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops! One more mistake. The Droid 2 went to Motorola today. Hopefully the replacement will be OK.

    My problem was the bootloader was stuck. I am certian I did something wrong, but for the life of me I have no idea what it was. I followed the instructions to the letter. Everything said it completed successfully, but I could never get the phone out of the white text bootloader. It also always had the error message: Err:A5,0,70,00,1F after every SBF flash attempt.

    The instructions I followed had me flash 2 files, one about 400MB, the other less than 1 MB.

    I think when I Mounted System and Wiped system, I totally screwed things up.

    I'll probably root but stick with stock for the replacement.

    Thanks for the help.

    Doug M.
     
  15. miketoasty
    Offline

    miketoasty Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You used the wrong SBF. You may be charged for a replacement since its somewhat obvious you were messing with your phone.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App