Rooting JB

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by mrglazier, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. mrglazier

    mrglazier New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have had my phone rooted since the day i got it, yesterday I backed up and temp unrooted my phone with voodoo and updated to JB. But i cannot re-root my phone. I have tried Razr_Blade and it has failed all 3 times.

    Any suggestions/help?
     
  2. IndyViva

    IndyViva New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had never rooted before but did it with razrblade.

    i had the usb set to file transfer, i think. i tried it the other 2 ways and it didnt work.
     
  3. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    open device manager, when phone is connected
    look for XT894 does it have a yellow triangle in front?
    if yes, uninstall it, disconnect phone from usb, install MOTOROLA DEVICE (Drivers) MANAGER, reconnect phone, wait for windows to find correct drivers, retry razrblade
     
  4. me_droid

    me_droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Was rooted before JB, then unrooted for the update. That went just fine, but now trying to reroot with razr_blade I get the following on Phase three:

    [*] Phase three (this will take a minute)...
    failed on '/data/logger' - Permission denied
    mkdir failed for /data/logger, File exists
    Unable to chmod /data/logger: Operation not permitted
    link failed File exists
    [*] Rebooting device...
    [*] Waiting for phone to reboot.
    [*] Phase four...
    2879 KB/s (91992 bytes in 0.031s)
    3653 KB/s (1867568 bytes in 0.499s)
    4493 KB/s (574184 bytes in 0.124s)
    3996 KB/s (63838 bytes in 0.015s)
    [*] Cleaning up...
    Segmentation fault
    [*] Rebooting...
    [*] Exploit complete!
    [*] Press any key to exit.
    Press any key to continue . . .

    Wondering if I'm not getting phase two correct with smart actions. When I open that there is no "Getting started" and battery saver is already there, save is grayed out. If I tap the "+" I can add a second battery saver.

    It must be something simple I'm messing up but can't figure it out.

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  5. me_droid

    me_droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well seems that not being in mtp mode was my mistake. Also deleted my preexisting battery saver in smartactions and cleared data for it. Until I cleared data it kept adding "battery saver1", "battery saver2" etc.
     
  6. switchx

    switchx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0




    The reason it failed was because you only get 1 chance to root the phone with smart action once you use it that was it . So now what you have to do is backup everything you want to keep and reset you phone to factory reset once you have done that retry rooting and it should work.
     
  7. sikassdrummer

    sikassdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    razor_blade , rosenburgs method, droid 4 utilities 2013 version and anything relating to the razor DO NOT WORK THE KERNAL IS DIFFERENT AND SO IS THE BUILD # OURS ON DROID 4 IS 9.8.20 RAZOR IS 9.8.18 AND WHERE YOU CAN GET SAFE STRAP THRU RAZOR BLADE YOU CANT USE IT BECAUSE IT DOESNT ROOT THE PHONE , IAM AS FUSTRATED AS YOU IF NOT MORE I WAS GIFTED THIS 1 MONTH OLD DROID 4 WITH THE JB OTA UPDATE 4.1.2 AND THERE IS NO ROOT METHOD THE FUNNY THING IS MOTOROLA TELLS US IF YOU DO A FACTORY RESTORE AND YOU SEE A 1/1 WHEN SAY YOU DO A CACHE WIPE OR RESTORE BY POWER AND BOTH VOLUME KEYS AT THE SAME TIME ENTER RECOVERY THEN HOLD BOTH VOLUME KEYS AGAIN THE 0/1 MEAN AT ONE TIME IT WAS ROOTED BUT NOT NOW AND 1/1 WHICH IS ON MY PHONE SAYS IT IS CURRENTLY ROOTED WHICH ACCORDING TO ROOT CHECKER AND NO BLOAT ITS A LIE LOL ITS NOT ROOTED I HAVE NO SUPERUSER AND NO ACCESS TO LETS CALL IT THE CONTROL PANNEL . BUT THATS HOW THEY CAN SEE IF IT IS ROOTED FOR WARRANTY PURPOSES .. OK SO NOW WITH THAT ALL BEING SAID AND THERE IS NO ROOT FOR DROID 4 ON JB 4.1.2 "FACT" MY WIFE WILL ATTEST TO THAT AND THE WEEK IVE BEEN RUNNING RSD AND FASTBOOT AND TRYING TO UNLOCK THE BOOTLOADER WITHOUT GOING THRU MOTOROLA TO GET A PASS KEY SO THEY HAVE ON FILE NO WARRANTY . CAN SOME ONE LIKE DJBLISS OR TOM WHO MAKES GREAT YOU TUBE VIDEOS MR ROOT MAKE ONE JUST FOR THE DROID 4 WITH OUT HAVING TO FLASH BACK TO ICS BECAUSE THAT IS NOW A WAY TO BRICK YOUR DEVICE WHICH IS NOW BEING TOLD BY XDA DEVLOPERS BUT HERE IS A NEAT WAY TO FLASH YOUR PHONE WITH 3D TO PAGE PLUS OR CRICKET FREE
    There is a great tutorial on how to upgrade the droid 4 to JellyBean and have a working Pageplus config. The Fastboot JellyBean files for the D4 are released so now it will be no problem to recover the phone if there are complications on the way.

    Credit Goes to snoop1979 on howardforums with his method on getting the Droid RAZR/MAXX to work with Pageplus on JellyBean. The same steps can apply to the droid 4. The only difference is the SBF file you use on the Droid 4. The one on his tutorial is ONLY for the Droid RAZR/MAXX. Using it on the Droid 4 will just instantly brick the phone. Below is a link to his amazing tutorial.

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...NG-on-PagePlus

    The link below is the correct SBF file to use with RSD LITE for the DROID 4

    Droid-Developers SBF

    Happy Flashing, and Good Luck,
    jeanr464
     
  8. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    the razr_blade root does work on Droid 4, it does not flash any files from the razr phone
    you can't unlocking the bootloader, Dan Rosenberg has found a way to unlock some moto phones but Droid 4 is not one of them
    yes flashing Droid razr .img/.xml file will brick phone
    this link does not work for me

    yes it has been posted many times

    edit: now if you want to root the phone, we can go step by step
    if phone is not booting, we can work on that too
     
  9. sikassdrummer

    sikassdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1


    sorry the link didn't work I can send it tomorrow if you would like it. and yes please tell mehow to get my droid 4 rooted I have factory restored 5 timed trying razor blade and it always freezes after I have selected battery saver and hit save then go in the prompt and hit enter.. if I switch to camera from MTP MEDIA DEVICE ,which ive been told it,s suppose to be on it does nothing
    please tell me how to do this correctly iam dying over here its been 4 days of wanting to throw my phone in the trash , every other droid I have no problem this 1 omg anyway please give me a dummys guide to rooting the droid 4 on 4.1.2 I can do the razor ,the droid 3 the droid x2 x1, but not this and ive had people over my drivers are up to date and installed even when I do a factory reset it shows 1/1 which Motorola says that means the phone is rooted but its not ? so any help I will be so happy with , Thank You in advance
     
  10. sikassdrummer

    sikassdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Follow steps 4-8 in the SBF section to perform a factory reset using the default recovery system

    I don't know what this means steps 4-8 ok go into holding power and both volume up and down same time .check
    go into recovery . check
    now I have 2 options wipe cache or wipe all data factory restore where are these steps he speaks of , ok go easy ive only used motofail 1 and 2 before basically a 1 click method run and wait so I need help on this one I need to root my droid 4 /running 4.1.2 and now I hear yes and no razor_blade works and doesn't well any 1 that has been successful on the droid 4 and can tell me what the steps above are and how to root ,belive me ive tried id really be thankful and ill donate ,Thanks in advance
     
  11. GigaJake

    GigaJake Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Wiping all data from the stock recovery is the same thing as a factory reset.

    And again, make sure you have usb debugging enabled and follow the razr blade utility instructions. It is screwy as it took me two times for it to work.

    Most people recommend being in media device when plugged in, mass storage worked for me.

    Some people recommend wiping the data from their smart actions app. Personally, I did not have to.

    Just try it a few times. It does work, many people can testify to that.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    I think the rooting problem is not wiping data
    try reading how-to-factory-reset-droid

    [/U][/FONT][/COLOR][/B]reboot to Boot Mode menu
    power off phone, hold both volume buttons, press power



    the step you seem to be missing in getting to recover is

    use Boot Mode menu, select recovery
    when you see android andy, laying down, and a red triangle with a ! in it
    press both volume buttons
    then you should see
    Droid4recovery_zps56b80603.jpg
    select wipe data
    wait for it to finish
    then select reboot

    edit: fixed wiping data link
     
Search tags for this page
cricket data bionic jb 4.1.2
,
droid 4 jb root
,
framaroot razr maxx
,

framaroot xt912

,
how to perm root after using framaroot
,
howard forum snoop1979 xt912
,
razor d3 rooting
,
razr maxx framaroot
,
root droid bionic 9.8.20
,

rooting droid 4 jb