Rooting on JB

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by Dom1000, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. Dom1000

    Dom1000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    i didn't time it but i think when i did it it only took about 5-6 mins...
     
  2. sikassdrummer

    sikassdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    a .bat zip 3 pack

    ok I made a listing on ow to do this 1 every time it doesn't work go to apps reset smart actions the top 1 about 1.9 mb and just hit clear data only
    2 run 2 copys of razor blade at the same time it forces superuser in that's how igot it done while running motofail at the same time so 3 files 1 razorblade 2 rosenbergs droid 4 utility jellybean xt894 and motofail and click start as close to the same time as possible , this will keep it moving and if you still have trouble add superuser free from google abd see if when you run the process it says binary is out dated and make sure you download a desktop of thT STUPID Back up assistant
    ok then you can remove that free google play superuser after you see if it says binary is out of date and the box has a blue check ,remove that app and start rosenburgs razorblade and another razor blade so 2 batch files of razorblade at the same time hit start as close to the same time as possible and repeat until it works remember each timr go to apps and clear data on the 1rst smart action in all apps
    good luck
     
  3. Dom1000

    Dom1000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    What???

    just follow dsdroid's steps and you should be fine I don't think it takes all of that to root your D4..

     
  4. sikassdrummer

    sikassdrummer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried for 4 days

    I though so as well and read your post and tried over and over and kept adjusting but when I ran razor blad at the same time it some how pushed root thru because I kept getting a freeze after smart actions . and I 1rst did a full wipe then just started going in and wiping data on the smart app and basically refreshing it . I swear that's how I got it to work , the google play SU apparently had to tell my computer that the binary was not up to date then I erased it and then I tried just razor blade still nothing but I did all 3 at once and presto iam rooted . ive received 13 other emails stating by running razorblade,well 2 copys of it at the same time did get them to root as well and they were having the same issiue a freeze after selecting battery ,then save then home
    and it would still freeze or just stop there but the second copy being pushed at the same time forces it to boot in MTP OR MIDEA MODE AND ALLOWED FOR STEP 3 TO OCCUR WHICH WOULD ALSO FREEZE I WAITED ANHOU THE 1RST TIME and nothing but with 2 run batch of razor blade it was like .5 seconds apart it kept forcing it to reboot the phone and force the s/u in and root it

    Don't know how or why just know it worked for me and 3 friends I did it the same way now just down to using razor blade 2x at the same time and it works every time no lag no disappointment , but thank you for your post it helped me because some one ekse was saying every time you have to do a factory restore if it fails at smart actions and I was like no way after the 3rd time lol ;) well thanks and keep up the great postings have a good night
     
    #16 sikassdrummer, Apr 10, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  5. Nrasser

    Nrasser New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upper Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    YES THIS DOES WORK on Droid 4 with the latest (March) JB OTA.

    1) Don't even start this process until you have installed ALL the latest MOTOROLA STUFF for your phone. Unplug/replug the phone into USB several times over a 3-5 minute period until the motorola stuff stops detecting/downloading/installing its MotoCast crapware. You don't have to set up MotoCast, just get it installed.

    2) As many have said: Make sure USB Debugging is ON and your USB mode is MTP. Mine wouldn't root in mass storage mode and I tried, numerous times, with everything else right.

    3) VERY IMPORTANT: SmartActions must be COMPLETELY blown back to as-installed condition. Hold icon, select "app info", then CLEAR DATA. Trying to delete the actions from within the app did not work for me, even though doing it that way makes the welcome screen appear again!

    4) Follow the RAZR_BLADE instructions. You should not see any filename messages, seg faults etc., if you do then some part of the above isn't right.

    Droid 4 - Rooted w/razr_blade on Windows XP running in Parallels VM on a MBP
     
  6. craigdoug

    craigdoug New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Everyone,

    Thanks to all foe the great info. However, I can't get this to root. I have followed all the suggestions. I have usb debugging enabled. I ran two at the same time. The process completes and says explioit complete but I am still not rooted. The only thing I can think of is the MTP mode and that I can not find. Any thoughts or ideas? Thanks!!!
     
  7. joyceface

    joyceface New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Desktop made a difference for some reason. thanks been doing this alllll dayyyyy!
     
  8. joyceface

    joyceface New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update. I had to get a new droid 4 and start this whole process again. I'm thankful this thread is still here because it was the same story. Anyway, couple of helpful hints: DO up zip to your desktop. When connecting the phone connect as MTP to the computer. Do the smartactions/battery procedure. Run the file as the administrator. That's they ONLY way it worked for me.
     
Search tags for this page
daemon started succesf
,
daemon started successfully
,
motofail 4.1.2
,
motofail jb
,

motofail jelly bean

,
razr blade daemon started
,

razr blade daemon started successfully

,
razr blade root assistant
,
root droid bionic 4.1.2 motofail
,
rooting 4.1.2 motofail