RomManager 2 issues

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Cool Cake, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Cool Cake

    Cool Cake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 2 issues with Rom Manager.
    1. when I try do download a Rom from the preselected options in RM i get a corrupt Zip error. Why? Cant RM recognize it's own recommended file.

    2. When trying to download a rom or theme that is installed on my SD card, I get a message that says remove the spaces from the file or run it in Clockwork recovery. Before I do the latter, i would like to know whats up with RM inconsistent behavior.

    3rd (I know...bonus). Some of the devs on the CM download list are not working ie..Chevy and a couple of others.

    Any ideas to help clear this up.

    Oh and Yes. I am new to rooting. In case you were wondering.

    Thanks,
    Kevin
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Since this is Kouch's baby, let's see if you can get some support here.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    RM is tricky. There's a reason most members of the Rescue Squad recommend doing things manually. :)

    First tip -- Slways clear your download cache before downloading a ROM or Kernel or anything. Also, it's recommended that unless it's giving you problems that day, always try to download from WiFi instead of 3G.

    Second tip -- Going for the bonus points here. :) What are you looking for from Chevy? Kernels? Index of /froyo/kernels2 Simply Stunning 4.9? Index of /froyo/4.9
     
  4. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    issue #1 is more then likely an actual d/l error. clear d/l cache as stated then redownload file.

    2 are you actually meaning install file from sd card? to do that the file needs to be in correct format. if file is update.zip format in RM you need to flash alternate recovery to use sprecovery.
     
  5. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I stopped using ROM manager for download/install of a ROM. I use clockworkmod recovery to backup/restore/install and a few other menu options which works very well.
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Big DITTO on this. I use RM to reflash recovery files only.
     
  7. captdroid

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Same here :)
     
  8. Cool Cake

    Cool Cake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really good advice. I find that I am getting more comfortable working within clockworkmod recovery.

    How do you clear download cache in RM?
     
  9. Cool Cake

    Cool Cake New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    never mind. I found it in the menue.
    Thanks,
     
Search tags for this page

rom manager clear download cache