Report your ICS on Razr experience here.

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by coolbreeze704, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Call Verizon customer support, I think they can push it to you

    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----
  2. BadAtPlaygrounds
    Offline

    BadAtPlaygrounds New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like the new GUI overall but my enjoyment of the new system is hampered by my inability to connect to wifi. My phone will stay on the "obtaining ip address" stage and then quit after a while saying that it "avoided poor internet connection." This is especially frustrating as I had to give up my unlimited data plan in order to upgrade and i would prefer to use the wifi available in my own house instead of wasting my now precious data. :angry:
  3. rjeatkrconley
    Offline

    rjeatkrconley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How old is your router? Might be in need of a firmware update or perhaps a new router. Are you using any encryption?
  4. maxtorque
    Offline

    maxtorque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update: After initial issues with super fast battery drain on my RAZR (std bat), I took the advice from those here and performed a total MFR. It was a pain to reorganize things, but reinstalling apps from Google account made that part a breeze. It took about a week or so, but battery life eventually improved. So much so now that it lasts longer than before the upgrade and I have 4G coverage almost everywhere. For me that means about 16 hours of standard use (no streaming video).
    I like most of the upgrade features but there are a few new annoyances. The biggest is the loss if the primary call number from the contact pull down. I now have to select a number to call for that person every time instead of jumping straight into a call. There are a few like this where added steps are now required with no way to create shortcuts.
  5. Luteplayers
    Offline

    Luteplayers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a way to put shortcut to a specific number using the direct dial widget.
  6. Lkvcutie
    Offline

    Lkvcutie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So as of right now I am having issues I looked at my phone and realized that I had absolutely no 4g or 3g all I had is the bars. Then earlier I charged my phone completely with it turned off and right when I turned back on it automatically dropped to 90%. I've never had an issue with battery up until earlier and I know the Facebook app was causing my wifi and 4g and 3g to drop but when I go to uninstall it it only uninstalls the updates for the app. What can I do to fix the problem? Should I just do a reset and not do the system update so that way I won't have to have the Facebook app on my phone? Please help me!!
  7. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Actually a factory reset will not remove the system update. Facebook can be disabled though. But i doubt that's causing your problems. The battery issue may not be a concern. 100% only represents 100 down to 95% it's very possible you charged out till it was 95% (the indicator would say 100%) and booting the phone up used that one percent thus it dropped to 94% with the indicator saying 90%. So it really didn't drop 10% it only dropped 1 or 2. Now... On to the connectivity problem. First, check to make sure you don't have any smart actions turning of your data. Maybe you are in a bad reception zone? There could be other problems. Sometimes your phone needs a reboot. Sometimes i have put it in airplane mode for a second then turn airplane mode off and data comes back.
  8. maxtorque
    Offline

    maxtorque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried placing the Direct Dial widget on my "desktop", but it won't stay and my contacts proceed to open. I can't get it to work. Any suggestions?
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    From your app drawer, press and hold the direct dial or contact widget (there are two of them, one for all contacts and one for a designated contact). It will open your list of all your contacts. Choose from the list the contact you want to direct dial and it will appear on your homescreen. Once on your homescreen, you can press and hold to move it where you want it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  10. Lkvcutie
    Offline

    Lkvcutie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So when I was charging my phone it was off and it did say fully charged so I unplugged it and turned it on right when my unlock screen popped up I noticed the battery had already dropped so I plugged it back in and it said 90% 15 minutes later it said 100% I unplugged it again and it dropped again right after I unplugged it. Do I need to wait for the notification tone before I unplug it? I figured out the connection problem it was a smart action I had one set up to disable mobile data while my wifi was on and I guess when I left the house and turned off my wifi the mobile data didn't come back on.
  11. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Your battery meter only reports in 10% increments. So when your battery is actually between 85 to 94%, it will report as 90%. When it is actually 95%, it reports 100%. As soon as your battery's true charge hits 95%, it will report that it is 100%. So if is really only 95% when unplugging it, the display will immediately use 1% bringing it down to 94%... which will in turn report the 94% as 90%. So what seems like a 10% drop is really only a true 1% drop.

    To get a true 100% charge, wait about 10-15 minutes after it reports 100% to unplug it. And keep in mind that when it reports 90%, it really is anywhere between 85-94%.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  12. InflectionIT
    Offline

    InflectionIT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The CEO of my company has this phone and since he did the OTA update has add a lot of issues.
    Initially we had issues with Push email not working. When we recreated the account it initially didn't get any email but after about a day it started updating.

    Currently the issue appears to be that all of his email is getting removed from his phone and the phone has to do its initial sync again which prevents him from receiving emails until all the old emails come in again. Our email is hosted at Microsoft and no other phones have an issue receiving the email. We have also tested Touchdown on his phone and it has no issues though the user prefers the built in app for email.

    Are there any known fixes for this behavior or do I have to look at finding a time I can get his phone for several hours and do a recovery reinstall?
  13. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    This is an ICS thread. I assume you're talking about the Jelly Bean OTA that just went out.
    Have you tried clearing both system cache and the email app data and cache?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  14. InflectionIT
    Offline

    InflectionIT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4.04. so still ICE. He has had issues for a long while.
Search tags for this page

drm protected content storage

,

how to get in backdoor of droid razor maxx

,

how to root a damn droid

,

medford oregon droid razr maxx

,

razor max avoided poor internet connection

,

why doesn't temple run 2 work on my motorola droid a855