Report your ICS on Razr experience here.

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by coolbreeze704, Jun 23, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. coolbreeze704
    Offline

    coolbreeze704 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    3 days and working flawlessly. Battery is getting better with each charge cycle. Loving it.
  2. BiGG WiLL
    Offline

    BiGG WiLL Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont like that the Social Status Widget has been removed. I miss that widget for updating twitter and facebook at the same time. I had to download a third party app (tweet caster) that had a similar widget.
  3. MEEF
    Offline

    MEEF Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My battery issue has been resolved!!!

    When I received my replacement phone I transferred my SD and SIM cards and did the ICS update. My battery life was the exact same. . . As it turns out it was an issue with my SD card. The majority of the battery consumption was "Media" and when I looked into what all was classified under media one thing stuck out "DRM Protected Content Storage".


    View attachment 52268


    Apparently there was a music file on my SD card that was DRM (Digital rights management) protected. I wasn't sure what file it was so I just deleted all music from the SD card and that was it! I'm not sure where the file came from but I think it was something that I downloaded from Yahoo music years ago. I suspect Yahoo because they are the only music store that I've ever used that has taken their DRM servers offline rendering the files unusable on other computers. I don't know a lot about DRM but I do know that it sucks. It's weird to me that the music file had been on that SD card from my OG Droid since probably 2010 and caused no issue with it or on my RAZR running Gingerbread. It seems like for whatever reason the music file on ICS was trying to obtain authorization from DRM servers that have been offline since 2008. Since deleting the music my battery life has been back to normal. I'll have to give it a few charge cycles to know if it's any better than Gingerbread. So after many phone conversations with Motorola and Verizon trying to troubleshoot the problem and then trying to avoid the CLNR phone I am able to keep my original phone and finally enjoy ICS!
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  4. William_04_x
    Offline

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Congrats! Keep us updated. I'd hate to delete all my music, but if it solves the battery issue, it would be worth it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
  5. rev0jace
    Offline

    rev0jace New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I had a lot of issues and I think it has to do with restoring everything from Titanium coming from pre-ICS land.

    I got pissed off this morn so I wiped and now started fresh without doing a restore YET, Gtalk is working fine and the phone seems pretty crisp. Lets hope it stays this way.
  6. michelle4439
    Offline

    michelle4439 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mullins SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since ICS my Yahoo is not working. I have to do a manual push to get my emails. My corporate email is working. I uninstalled yahoo and reinstalled but no luck.
  7. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yea....especially with something like Ti Backup....you cant just restore everything from a backup going to a new OS or maybe even a small update. I normally did apps only..and data one app at a time just to be sure. And never system or certain things from system. You were restoring GB OS things to ICS.
  8. 19psi
    Offline

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    everything seems to work ok, but it's a bit laggier, maybe because suddenly there's only about half the available RAM as on GB? How to get some RAM back?
  9. bryann420
    Offline

    bryann420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    help? i cant updatee to ICS

    i cant update, i was rooted, i think i took root access away, root checker says i did. i was rooted stock rom on my razr, i used motofail to root. the update came out and i couldnt update so i unrooted, but i still cant update. I tried flashing a rooted ICS rom but it says invalid esignatue. also when i was rooted i changed my boot animation and it never changed back to the original. so idk...anyone have any thoughts on how i can get ICS??
  10. bryann420
    Offline

    bryann420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Memory Optimizer always works for me
  11. jdparise
    Offline

    jdparise Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes my mic cuts out and no one cab hear Mr during a phone call.
  12. rjeatkrconley
    Offline

    rjeatkrconley Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Use matts utility 1.7 and flash back to stock .181 then the ota should work.
  13. silverdreams
    Offline

    silverdreams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  14. MEEF
    Offline

    MEEF Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far so good! The music is all saved on my PC so it wasn't a big deal to delete the SD card. The replacement phone is packed up and ready to be sent back to Verizon. I'm really happy that I got it figured out before I sent my phone in for repair.



    View attachment 52301
  15. sajgel
    Offline

    sajgel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its a lot harder to switch from 3G to 4g when you want to do that function. Now you either have to go thru the tester backdoor or download a program called LTE on/off
Search tags for this page

drm protected content storage

,

how to get in backdoor of droid razor maxx

,

how to root a damn droid

,

medford oregon droid razr maxx

,

razor max avoided poor internet connection

,

why doesn't temple run 2 work on my motorola droid a855