1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Replacing the build.prop file

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by cubsfan187, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I did see a thread on this in the forum but again...don't want to hijack that one. I am trying to get the 2.3.340 update and can't get it to work for this reason, I didn't make a good backup before 'morphing' my Dx. (stupid...yes lesson learned...yes) Anyway the update won't take because of these changes to the phone. I have the original build.prop on the phone and sd card as well as the build.prop I am currently using. What I need to know is this, how do I go about replacing it? Do I set permissions on the original (to what permissions too) and then delete the modified one? The phone reboots itself 2 times a day trying to install this update and I want to fix it. Any more help with this would be greatly appreciated. That is what I love about this forum. Always help to be found.
  2. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Bump for help
  3. scarmack
    Offline

    scarmack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sharpsville, PA
    i wish i could help you. i make things look pretty, i dont make them function. my guess. in theory, if you have the old build you can simply replace it and then reboot and ta da. but i doubt its that easy. sorry man
  4. RedWingsFan
    Offline

    RedWingsFan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you don't have Root Explorer, I would suggest getting it and using it. You can copy or move the original Build Prop file to the System folder. You will have to mount the folder R/W (button at the top), paste the file then long press on it, select properties and insure that it is Read - Write - Blank; Read - Blank - Blank; Read - Blank - Blank on the check boxes. Hope this helps. Make sure you have everything backed up to the stone age just in case you have to restore.
  5. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well I changed the permissions on the original file after copying it over. Moved into the system file. Got rid of the modified build.prop (after copying that to the sd card). Closed root explorer. Rebooted and crossed fingers. Hit the boot logo fine...then nothing. Black/blank screen. Had to reboot into recovery. Maybe I didn't get the right build.prop original files. I dont know. Does anyone have those files or know where I can get another copy?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  6. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    You should have just replaced the modified build.prop with the stock one, not deleted the one you had.

    That said, if you're bootlooping a factory reset may solve your problems:

    Power off, hold home + power, ! icon comes up, press search button, select factory reset.

    If that doesn't work, an sbf is in your future.
  7. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Stupid question then...how do you just replace it? Once you copy it over you then have two .prop files in the system folder. How do you tell the system to boot with one and not the other? I trying so desperately not to do a reset or flash to avoid losing all I've done. I know I am sounding like a total noob but im just trying to learn this so I don't ask as many questions..haha.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  8. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Adb tools would do it with the mv command. Root explorer would do it too by deleting build.prop and inserting the stock one in the same location
  9. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    This is being done thru root explorer. When I copy it over it puts right next to the modified one I am running. Then both have this little shield like icon over the actual .prop file icon. The permissions are the same on both. Should the modified one have different permissions once the other is copied over from the sd card? This is why I deleted the file all together. If that should have worked then I think I got a bad build.prop file and will look for a new one. I really appreciate all the help on this. I will go to great lengths to avoid taking the easy way out and doing a factory reset. Unless that's the last resort, its not teaching me to troubleshoot and learn.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  10. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Quick bump to see what to do next.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  11. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    So what problem do you have now? Im confused what the problem is if you can boot into the os
  12. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    The problem is that im trying to replace the build file to get it to load into the stock build. That os the only way I can get the. 340 update. I have both build files on the sd card and the modified one in the system folder. When I copy the original one over to the system folder via root explorer, it places it next to the current one in use. I changed permissions on the original one and deleted the modified one. Reboot and it gets stuck on a black screen after the boot logo. I then have to do a batt pull to boot into recovery and cm. Im stuck on whats going on. Is the original build.prop file I got bad? Im just not sure. I hope that I explained it a little clearer this time. Lol.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  13. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Well...to get to.340 there's an .sbf that you use which nukes the /system folder anyway...so isn't your problem moot?
  14. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I don't think so because im not trying an sbf. I still trying to get the ota update from last week. Im trying to go through the process to learn and not just start over with the phone. I just don't know why when I load the original build file it gets stuck. I'm thinking that maybe that file is no good. But I don't know for sure. The only thing I did when I got the phone was use metamorph to change the batt icon, signal icon and a few others. When I try to do the ota and hold the search button while it loads I get errors for the framework.res which are the meters I changed. Some of which I can't find the original files for to just change them back.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  15. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Maybe im just too hopeful I can do things this way instead of just wiping the phone.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  16. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    You wont be able to ota with a modified framework. Restore a backup you created before editing those files (might even have the stock build.prop too)
    Didn't create a backup? You just learned your lesson. You'll have to flash the original framework back on too or sbf. See a tutorial on backups in my signature
  17. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    No I didn't do a backup before. You are very correct in saying that was my problem. I did learn a valuable lesson as I have done a backup now anytime I change something no matter how small. As far as an sbf I was going to try that but had a problem there too. I got the stock sbf and rsdlite and hooked up the phone in bootloader mode. Rsd didn't recognize my phone and when I selected the file to load, it didn't show in the file properties in the right hand section of the Rsd page. It was like nothing was selected. I stated that in another thread too and a few people had that problem but I never heard if they got it fixed or not.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  18. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ahhhhh now I see why you don't want to sbf. (Its my favorite :D)
    Its not so scary.

    Let's go that route now. My sig also has a link to a sbf tutorial. Go in there, start at square 1. Uninstall rsd, follow all my links and instructions and it should be quite painless. If you have troubles, post directly on that forum
  19. cubsfan187
    Offline

    cubsfan187 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    What will that wipe on the phone? everything correct?
  20. maderschramm
    Offline

    maderschramm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Depends which sbf you use. If you're going to .340 that's a system only sbf so only everything in the /system folder
    The .320 is a full sbf so it wipes everything

    That said you may need to do a factory reset so back up your apps etc
Search tags for this page
android build.prop permissions
,
build prop permission
,
build prop permissions
,

build.prop file permissions

,

build.prop location

,
build.prop permission
,
build.prop permissions
,
droid3 build prop copied from where
,
how to overwrite build.prop
,

location of build.prop

,
overwrite build prop
,
overwrite build.prop
,
permission build.prop
,
permissions for build.prop
,
what you should do if built prop is delited