For 2.2 Market issues, use this mod. (apps not showing up)

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by LexusBrian400, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. LexusBrian400
    Offline

    LexusBrian400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For 2.2 Market issues, use this mod.
    For those of you having trouble seeing protected apps, I modified our fingerprint in the build.prop. What this does is spoofs the market into thinking its seeing a Droid 2 (with Froyo) It worked for me, let me know if it does for you.

    1. Put build.prop into your AndroidSDK\TOOLS folder
    2. Connect via USB.
    3. CD (Navigate) in CMD to your tools folder

    Copy and paste this

    4. adb remount

    5. adb push build.prop /system/build.prop

    6. reboot

    To test before you push the build.prop fix, search the market for Us Bank. If only 2 or 3 show up, you are not getting the full market. After this fix, you should see 10 items listed when you search for Us Bank.

    Hope this helps.





    This can also be done via Root Explorer.



    Thanks to Jcase for giving me the original idea way back when. I just basically applied his Eris Market Fix to work with our phones.

    Download
    New build.prop
  2. Anticitizen
    Offline

    Anticitizen New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for this. Worked for me. I wasn't even aware I was not seeing all market apps...
  3. DangerMouse
    Offline

    DangerMouse New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How would you go about doing this for Root Explorer, for some reason I'm getting permission denied even though I have root access and su works fine.
  4. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,424
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Is that the build prop with the stagefright stuff still set to falso so videos work?
  5. DangerMouse
    Offline

    DangerMouse New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nevermind.. I got it installed via copying the file to sdcard and then cp'ing it over the original after pulling my original for back-up purposes in case of problems. It's working perfectly. Now seeing way more on market.
  6. JMC1018
    Offline

    JMC1018 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    do i have to rename the file before copying it over? never mind i got it thanks
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  7. LexusBrian400
    Offline

    LexusBrian400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yes, videos will work with this one.
  8. affliction
    Offline

    affliction New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hilliard,Ohio
    call me a noob if u will but how do u do it with root explorer
  9. DangerMouse
    Offline

    DangerMouse New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    videos work with them set to true; if you use Rock Player. :) Also end up with some extremely high quadrant values. 2257 was my last score. And I'm not over-clocked. Reading up enough information to find out if over-clocking is worth it yet.
  10. tony1208
    Offline

    tony1208 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    worked like a charm
  11. imronburgundy
    Offline

    imronburgundy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know how to do this without root? I cannot find the AndroidSDK\TOOLS folder using any types of file managers plus I don't have root access. It's been stressing me out as I can't download some of the premium programs I've already paid for. Thanks in advance!
  12. validoption
    Offline

    validoption New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AndroidSDK\Tools and ADB would be on your PC if you installed them and worked with them.

    Without root access it is highly unlikely you will be able to modify anything in /system, which is where the build.prop is.
  13. affliction
    Offline

    affliction New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hilliard,Ohio
    nevermind i figured it out and it works greatdancedroid
  14. kylos
    Offline

    kylos New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having trouble getting SDK to work, and I cannot get root explorer because my market is limited. Is there any other alternative to getting this done?
  15. xeene
    Offline

    xeene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    usa
    easier way is to just install an app from market called "eris market fix - free"
  16. cplus
    Offline

    cplus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It might just be coincidence..

    my apps weren't showing up in Market except for payed ones so i cleared the Market cache and used Chevyno1's bkapps script [backup to sd] because I thought uninstalling and then using rstapps script would maybe fix. Before going through the effort of uninstalling every app, I went back to Market to check and all of my apps were back.
  17. LexusBrian400
    Offline

    LexusBrian400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pretty sure the eris is not a 2.2 device. It may help with the Us Bank test apps showing up, but not froyo specific apps.

    2 People I have talked to reported various things not functioning correctly after using eris market fix on their droid x. which makes sense.

    I wouldnt recommend it.

    If its to hard for you to push a build.prop, why even bother being rooted? :)
  18. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1

    Mount R/W in root explorer.
  19. xeene
    Offline

    xeene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    usa
    what are the froyo specific apps and what kind of problems were people running into using eris fix? so far i've only heard of positive things from it.
  20. affliction
    Offline

    affliction New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hilliard,Ohio
    Im not going to say its not true but I haven't heard of any problems plus I haven't had any problems getting apps that are used with froyo

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk