For 2.2 Market issues, use this mod. (apps not showing up)

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by LexusBrian400, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. LexusBrian400
    Offline

    LexusBrian400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For 2.2 Market issues, use this mod.
    For those of you having trouble seeing protected apps, I modified our fingerprint in the build.prop. What this does is spoofs the market into thinking its seeing a Droid 2 (with Froyo) It worked for me, let me know if it does for you.

    1. Put build.prop into your AndroidSDK\TOOLS folder
    2. Connect via USB.
    3. CD (Navigate) in CMD to your tools folder

    Copy and paste this

    4. adb remount

    5. adb push build.prop /system/build.prop

    6. reboot

    To test before you push the build.prop fix, search the market for Us Bank. If only 2 or 3 show up, you are not getting the full market. After this fix, you should see 10 items listed when you search for Us Bank.

    Hope this helps.





    This can also be done via Root Explorer.



    Thanks to Jcase for giving me the original idea way back when. I just basically applied his Eris Market Fix to work with our phones.


    Build.Prop
  2. LexusBrian400
    Offline

    LexusBrian400 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the Root Explorer method, just copy the build.prop to your SD Card, long press on it, copy, navigate to /system/ , paste, and over write.

    Reboot.
  3. steeleshark2
    Offline

    steeleshark2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works great!! I used the root explorer method when this first came out.
  4. tx3kgtman
    Offline

    tx3kgtman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just used the root explorer meathod and now it wont boot.
    I downloaded the file.
    renamed my build.prob to build.prob/bak
    placed the new build.prob in the system folder
    rebooted and now after the M screen it just goes to a black screen with the backlight lit. Wont boot up. Im learning adb so this may be a noob question but can I access adb if the phone wont boot all the way up. That way I could change the build.prob back
  5. steeleshark2
    Offline

    steeleshark2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are the first that I know of that had this problem. Unfortunatley, I am not an ADB expert but from what I know, you phone needs to be on. Another thing to try is a factory reset. I have heard people getting different issues fixed with factory reset and still keeping froyo.
  6. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where's build.prop file located?
  7. steeleshark2
    Offline

    steeleshark2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the system folder. If you mean the download one, it is a link at the bottom of the first post.
  8. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you use the root explorer method as lexusbrian400 mentioned?


    edit: haha i didn't see the download link.
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  9. maronn
    Offline

    maronn New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To tx3. Might be because u named it .prob and not .prop

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  10. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL!
    good catch
  11. tx3kgtman
    Offline

    tx3kgtman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    omg im an idiot. thats exactly what i did. guess im sbf'ing it
  12. steeleshark2
    Offline

    steeleshark2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, I didn't notice it in his post LOL!! I need to pay more attention.
  13. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the file and overwrote it using root explorer but I'm still only seeing 3 us bank apps...
  14. steeleshark2
    Offline

    steeleshark2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pm me your email, and I will pass you mine that I know works perfectly. Also, you need to reboot after using Root Explorer for it to be effective.
  15. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm, that's weired. I only saw 3 apps couple minutes ago, but now I see 10.

    local us bank location
    mobile banking for android
    money pass
    personal finance
    inflation master
    android banking
    uk lgv teory
    uk motorcyle
    uk pcv
    uk driving theory


    can someone confirm this please?

    Also, I can't find Adobe Flash Player 10.1 on the market. Is it normal?
  16. steeleshark2
    Offline

    steeleshark2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are good to go!!
  17. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks!

    111111111
  18. johaBBa
    Offline

    johaBBa New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for posting this fix.
Search tags for this page

android caller id not showing up root

,

bulid.prop sd crad