Random rebooting and/or shutting down

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by eversonsc, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. eversonsc

    eversonsc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone had issues with the phone just rebooting itself or shutting down without notice? I've had the phone since it came out and this has happened 3 times so far.
     
  2. Zer0Beast

    Zer0Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have, mine reboots or locks up at least once every couple of hours. I have to return mine and swap it out for a new one.

    I've noticed other people have had this issue too. Just take it back and have them swap it out.
     
  3. noordzy77

    noordzy77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine was doing this, and I was also having an issue with being unable to text aprticular person, wasn't using Area code even though it was in the contact info. Verizon swapped out my phone and I have been golden since.
     
  4. ZeRo_C0oL

    ZeRo_C0oL Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Luckily I haven't had any of those issues (yet), but that doesn't mean I won't, with my luck.
     
  5. eversonsc

    eversonsc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so if you go and swap it out are you able to transfer the configuration somehow? Or will I have to set up the new phone all over again?
     
  6. mrpbjnance

    mrpbjnance Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When your phone randomly reboots does it show the Motorola M? Mine started doing that today and has done it twice
     
  7. Zer0Beast

    Zer0Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    When mine reboots, yes, it shows the 'M' as if I just turned it on.
     
  8. Zer0Beast

    Zer0Beast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would have to set up your settings on the phone again. but all of your contacts and applications you downloaded from the marketplace should all be put back once you set up your gmail account on the new phone
     
  9. mrpbjnance

    mrpbjnance Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you end up returning yours..did you have to prove it to them or did they just give you a new one?
     
  10. Guindalf

    Guindalf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just home from getting a replacement for this problem. It is known to them in the stores and they will swap it out with no problems. I had not sent in my MIR yet, so that was not an issue for me.

    I can confirm that, if they swap the memory card with your old phone, all the apps remain. All you need to do is re-pair Bluetooth and repopulate your main screen(s).
     
  11. tarheel316

    tarheel316 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on my second droid. The first one kept powering down. Verizon gladly exchanged phones and took the SD card out of the old one and into the new since I already had images on it. The new phone is doing fine.
     
  12. eversonsc

    eversonsc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just returned mine today because of the rebooting problem. The tech told me that the apps etc are sync'd with my gmail account. I took the SD card from the old phone and put it in the new one. Once I added my main Gmail account to the new phone most of the settings were the same. My background image was the same and the apps were still there. I had to re-drag them onto the screen from the main menu but they were still there. I had to re-add the rest of my email accounts and had to personalize the ringtone and notification ringtone as well. I am back up and running and so far so good.
     
  13. S281

    S281 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How often would u qualify rebooting a problem. Mine reboots maybe 3 or 4 times a day? Should i exchange mine?
     
  14. Spartan

    Spartan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep that would qualify for me! I've had mine since last Friday and haven't had a single reboot. If it did it more than a couple time a week, I exchange it.
     
  15. kdanielson

    kdanielson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would say that would definitely qualify. Mine was doing the same thing. I took it back, they exchanged without problem, and the new one has been troublefree!
     
Search tags for this page
android random reset
,

droid dna random shutdown

,
frequentt shutdow n of android phones
,
nexus 7 random reboots and shuts down in sleep mode
,
phone reboots shuts down
,
random rebooting nokia 928