Quick Home Replacement Question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Shortyj13, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. Shortyj13

    Shortyj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Massillon, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently have a HTC TB, got it right when it came out. LOVE IT. But, one of the few things that drives me nuts is the inability to overwrite the stock launcher. I use Go Launcher Ex and really love it, been using it since my old D1. When you press the home button you always have to select which launcher you want it to go to, even if you select "use by default" and then Go Launcher Ex. That only works for a few minutes to an hour.

    So, my question is, I will be possibly upgrading to a newer phone soon and wanted to know if it's only the TB that has this problem, or all HTC phones? And, do any other brand/models not allow you to change your default launcher. No, apps like Home Switcher, and Home Manager do not fix this issue.

    I realize this has probably been asked in some form before but i can't find just the info I am looking for, so any help is much appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,807
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,289
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I know the Droids do allow.
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I had a Dinc before and ran LauncherPro with it without any problems. However I was on a custom ROM as well.
     
  4. Shortyj13

    Shortyj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Massillon, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know yet if the Galaxy S3 allows you to change your default home for good like the droids do?
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I don't own an S3, but from what I heard, yes you can change the launcher