please help ive been reaching out all day and no one answerd back

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by marcogiudice, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. marcogiudice

    marcogiudice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jupiter, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    first when i d/l'ed ud v9 frm sprecovery and update.zip it load ok but then wheni got the home screen i didnt get the options of the 4 home screens and i tried doing it twice then when i went back to my good copy of ud v8 everytime i did this messed up my gmail and i couldnt get it to work and had to reinstall the update.zip for v8 3 times everytime i tried a different version if ud and now i did a clean install and got everything working but nnow im scred to do any upgrades cuz if i dont like it and want to go back it will screw up my gmail... someone please help!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    By "tried to go back to your good copy of ud 8," do you mean that you tried to do a nandroid restore?
     
  3. peterjariel

    peterjariel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe if you retype your post so we can understand what your talking about, you can get some help. What's your question?
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,149
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +222
    Ok if a ROM doesn't work wipe data and cache before you do your restore. If you don't do this whatever is corrupt or wrong with the ROM not working will be transfered to your restore. As a good rule of thumb for any new ROM I wipe data and cache. It ensures a clean install 9.5 times out of 10. Just make a backup before the new ROM and you'll be fine. No need to be scared of modding just ask questions and learn from the forum. The info is here to save almost any situation.
     
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    From what I understand of the OP, he/she's trying to go from version 8 of UD to version 9 of UD via update.zip, not installing a new rom. I never wiped date/cache between updates of Bugless Beast...

    Or am I reading the OP wrong...? :D
     
  6. marcogiudice

    marcogiudice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jupiter, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i went back to nandroid and try both copys i had and it seems they both got corrupted some how
     
  7. marcogiudice

    marcogiudice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jupiter, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i forgot to mention it but i always do a data cache wipe alays before i do anything believe ive been read these forums everyday since its opened and thats y im even stuped and worried now cuz even i cant figured it out i tried everything a normal root user would try i need some advancde advice
     
  8. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,149
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +222
    Normally updating the same rom don't need to wipe, but doesn't hurt for a clean install. The op had an issue with UD 9 and restored his backup. Needed to wipe data before restore to keep whatever corrupted UD 9 from getting to the UD 8 backup.
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,149
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +222


    Ok....it is a little confusing then. It could be a UD issue. You can try flashing a different ROM. And then flash back to UD if that's your prefered ROM.
     
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Now that I understand what's going on, I completely agree. Try getting a fresh copy of the install file and fall jstafford's advice!

    EDIT: Damn...Haha! Um...hmm...well...Ok. Here we go...Does UD offer a nandroid install? If so, I'd wipe everything and install again via nandroid. If that doesn't work, I guess the only other option really (that I can come up with right now) is to try flashing a different rom completely and THEN try UD again. Either way, I'd do a Nandroid, as it'll replace more of your files (and update only replaces things that have changed if I understand correctly, while a Nandroid installs ALL of the parts of the rom, replacing what you have)
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  11. zerosignal0

    zerosignal0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    engrish FTW! Honestly man you need to take a few extra seconds and type clearly the steps that you have taken and what you want to accomplish because this makes no sense at all...
     
  12. marcogiudice

    marcogiudice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jupiter, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol.. ok let me start over my computer lingo isnt up t o par i guess.. ok i installed ud 8 using sprecovery and nandroid. i did a back up of my v8 version 2 of them no less. ok then saw that ud v9 came out and wanted to see what it was about and install from update.zip in SPRecovery. saw that i wasnt crazy about ud v9 i wanted to go back to my v8 and when i did my gmail didnt work anymore on both copy and i did a complete wipe also when doing it to be safe
     
  13. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Thank you! What do you mean that your gmail didn't work? You couldn't sign into the phone at all, or the app wasn't working?
     
  14. marcogiudice

    marcogiudice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jupiter, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    no it would sign in but i couldnt send emails out it would just say send........ and stay there for hours and i tried *228 nothing
     
  15. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,149
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +222
    I gotcha....I've heard of google conectivity issues with UD lately. I would flash to another ROM makesure everything works then download UD 8 again and make sure everythings morking then. Also might want to let Blackdroid know about the gmail issue so he can see if there is a problem.

    I just don't want you to be afraid to mod your phone. These things happen and I know it took a little bit to get to ya but there is a lot of help here.