new to droid rooting

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by renton56, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. renton56

    renton56 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i just updated my original moto droid to Android Version 2.2
    and am now at build number Frg01b

    i was just wondering if its possible to root the droid after the froyo update without loosing out too much on some things.


    im not sure if its accurate since im pretty scrub at the droid rooting stuff but from the few few things i remebered seeing last night i read it may be hard to root 2.2


    so to shorten it up i was just wondering if its possible to root my phone since its now 2.2 froyo and has never been rooted before.

    PS if possible may i please have a link or a message in the right direction on how to root it if possible


    thanks in advance and enjoy the new froyo
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Check out Easy Rooter in the Market. It will supposedly root 2.2 which is what your are running now. It will cost you a buck but make your life easier.
     
  3. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Easy Root....Best dollar I've spent so far. Just got done rooting and making nandroid backup...total time: ten minutes.

    ~ Droid ~
     
  4. renton56

    renton56 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you sure about that name? i typed in Easy rooter in the market app thats built into the phone and found nothing of it
     
  5. TheMoosiah

    TheMoosiah New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    All you should have to put in is...

    Easy Root


    Should be the first result
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  7. renton56

    renton56 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    easy root compatibility? shows free on mine

    ~_~ sorry guys if i sound annoying i just dont want to have a bricked phone when i attempt to root it
     
  8. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
  9. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Comments say that Google pulled the Easy Root app from the Market. :icon_evil:
     
  10. TheMoosiah

    TheMoosiah New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn it... looks that way